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Foreword 

By Olene S. Walker
Former Governor of Utah

You are holding in your hands the only book specifically designed to 
help Utahns over the age of 55 that explains legal issues. With help 
from the baby boomers, the 55-plus population is the fastest-growing 
segment in the state.

As one of the 503,694 Utahns in this age group and as Former 
Governor, I am constantly faced with legal decisions. As we age, 
we have more concerns about laws related to retirement, end-of-life 
issues, advance directives, estate planning, health care, long-term 
care planning, and consumer fraud, among others. Some of the most 
common questions need simple answers. When do I start receiving 
Social Security? Is a will created with computer software valid? How 
do I avoid probate? Can I deed my house to my kids now?

Navigating the law regarding aging issues and questions can be 
challenging. Where do you go to find information and answers? There 
are many laws, and they are not written in plain English.

Yet these laws affect us. They affect our health, our finances, and our 
social needs. To avoid the pitfalls of making ill-informed decisions, 
it is essential that we empower ourselves through education in this 
aging game.

The goal of this book is to educate older Utahns about various law 
and aging issues. The end result is the hope that more Utahns will be 
comfortable with the law and make informed legal decisions.
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This book was developed because 60% of older Utahns surveyed 
said they wanted a legal guidebook more than any other service 
or program. Since that time, Jilenne Gunther, with the support of 
The Borchard Foundation Center on Law and Aging and the Utah 
Division of Aging and Adult Services, has been working tirelessly 
with attorneys and aging experts to respond to that request. This book 
is the result. It makes the law simple to understand and navigate. It is 
written in plain language and an easy-to-read format. At the end of 
each chapter there is a listing of agencies and organizations to contact 
for more information. Throughout the book you will see symbols 
for important things, warnings, and times when you need to hire an 
attorney. I want to thank Jilenne Gunther for her great contribution 
in helping senior citizens understand Utah law.

	 Olene S. Walker
	 Former Governor of Utah
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Introduction

“We already gave you the films,” responded the nurse. This was 
an easy way of not being bothered. I had taken Kaye to every 
appointment, and I knew she had not received any pre or post-
operative films, and she knew something had gone wrong during her 
eye surgery. Kaye was now a partially blind 70-year-old accompanied 
by myself, a naive 14-year-old. We walked home without the films.

This story is important to me because of the relationship I had with 
Kaye. I met her when I was 12 years old and she was in her sixties. I 
loved hearing her stories. During World War II, she had been a nurse 
in Malaysia. She fell in love with and married one of the men who 
was under her care. After the war they desperately wanted to return 
to his homeland, but the Iron Curtain prevented them from doing 
so. Instead, they moved to New York, where her husband was the 
Polish voice for Radio Free Europe. I gained a great respect for Kaye 
as I listened to the stories about her life and their struggles to bring 
freedom to those in her husband’s homeland. 

I watched a woman who had worked to bring freedom to others, now 
have that freedom taken away from her at the end of her life. Where 
would Kaye go today to resolve this problem? Where do you go 
today to get answers to legal questions? Like Kaye, many people have 
questions, as they approach 55: How do I apply for Medicare? How 
do I hire a contractor? How do I avoid today’s scams? 

If you are in this situation, this book is perfect for you. It will answer 
these questions and many more. And it’s what you requested. In a 
survey, Utahns 60 and over said they wanted a legal resource guide 
more than several other services. Here it is.

In this book, I’ll tell you how to navigate your rights, from asserting 
your rights as a grandparent to creating a health care power of 
attorney. I’ll even explain when you should hire an attorney and when 
you can save your money. 
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This book is for anyone who has questions about elder law — 
caregivers, families, aging professionals, social workers, attorneys — 
but it was written especially with those 55 and over in mind. It’s a 
reference guide written in question and answer format. You can pick 
it up and turn to any page and start reading. If you are looking for a 
particular subject, use either the table of contents at the front of the 
book or the index at the back.

Each chapter starts off with a roadmap that lays out what is in the 
chapter. Every chapter is broken into subsections relating to the 
chapter topic. For example, the chapter entitled “Protecting Yourself 
from Scams and Sales” is broken into seven sections — Scams, 
Identity Theft, Junk Mail, Telemarketers, Door-to-Door Salesmen, 
Contractors and Reverse Mortgages.

Throughout the book are icons that highlight important things--tips, 
dangers, and warnings about legal jargon.

Important Things — This denotes important 
things. If you read anything, read the section by 
this icon.

Good Tips — This denotes great tips to help 
prevent future problems.

Warning to Proceed with Caution — This 
warning sign points out areas you should be 
cautious about.

Need an Attorney — Let’s face it, even I would 
rather spend my money on something other than 
an attorney. This icon highlights areas that will 
tell you whether or not you need an attorney.

Legal Nerd Talk — I’m a big believer in using 
plain English, but sometimes specialized words 
just can’t be avoided. So when you see this icon, 
take it as a warning or an apology that legal 
jargon is coming up. 
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You don’t have to read the whole book at once. It’s a need-to-know 
book. You can pick it up whenever you have a question. If you need to 
know how to get rid of junk mail — pick it up. If you need to know 
how to write a complaint — pick it up.

Almost no book can be a complete resource, so at the end of 
each chapter is a section entitled “More Information” that lists 
organizations that you can contact for additional information. Some 
organizations do not take phone calls; in these cases only a website 
address is provided. The book also includes a glossary and appendix 
with helpful legal resources.

With that, pick this book up whenever you need your questions 
answered. 
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Disclaimer

This book is intended to provide general legal information. It is not 
a full or exhaustive explanation of the legal topics in this book. You 
should not consider it the rendering of legal advice that is applicable 
to any particular situation. It is your responsibility to consult with 
competent legal counsel regarding any information discussed in this 
book. Nothing in this book should be used as a substitute for advice 
from legal counsel. If you need legal advice, you should obtain the 
services of an attorney.

This information is intended, but not guaranteed, to be accurate and 
current. Since laws can change rapidly, this information is provided 
without warranty or guarantee. The applicability of some laws 
discussed can vary based on jurisdiction and the interpretations of 
courts within each county.

The author and those who contributed content do not constitute a law 
firm and do not represent you as the reader. In no way will the author 
be liable to the reader or any other person or entity for damages 
arising from the reliance, use, inability to use, or lack of action based 
on this information. The author will not be responsible for any claims 
arising from errors, omissions, or inaccuracies in this book.
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Chapter
1

Protecting Yourself From 
Scams and Sales

In This Chapter, Learn:
How to Avoid �� Scams
How to Prevent �� Identity Theft
What to do if You Are a Victim of �� Identity Theft
How to Get Rid of �� Junk Mail
How to Stop �� Telemarketers 
How to Get a �� Refund from a Door-to-Door Sale
What to Know Before Hiring a �� Contractor
Whether You Should Get a �� Reverse Mortgage
About Much More��
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Scams

How do I avoid consumer scams?
Don’t give into high-pressure sales tactics. ••

Take time to make decisions. ••

Do your homework before hiring a contractor, ••
giving to a charity, making an investment, or 
purchasing goods or services.
Don’t hire people that solicit your business. ••

If it sounds too good to be true, it is!••

Ignore offers that go away if you don’t act now. ••

Ask for everything in writing, and don’t sign until ••
you understand and agree with the terms of the 
offer and consequences.
Don’t open your door to strangers and solicitors.••

What are the top scams?

Medicare Scams
Watch out for Medicare con artists. Some con artists 
are trying to cash in on the Medicare program (see 
chapter 6). They call pretending to be Medicare 
employees offering health insurance programs. 
They ask you to sign up and pay over the phone. 
The catch is that they are not Medicare employees 
(because Medicare employees don’t initiate calls 
to enroll you), they are not signing you up for a 
legitimate Medicare program, and any information 
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you give them may be used to steal money and your 
identity. 

Investments with “High Returns and Low 
Risks” 
If you hear about an investment that is low risk with 
a high return, run away! If you want a high return, 
you have to take larger risks. Investigate carefully 
before purchasing an investment.

Travel Scams 
“Free vacations” are not bargains. Free or bargain 
vacation deals often come with “hidden fees.” For 
example, after accepting the vacation, you might be 
asked to pay a high tax or other fees. Or once you 
book the trip you may have to pay for upgrades so 
you can travel on the dates and to the destinations 
you desire. In the end, you have paid more for the 
“free” vacation than you initially expected.

Predatory Lending
Say no to predatory lending! Companies with 
predatory lending practices may target you with 
unfair and abusive loan terms through aggressive 
and deceptive sales tactics that take advantage of 
your lack of understanding. Predatory lending 
practices are commonly seen in situations where 
you have equity built up in your home and, faced 
with medical bills or home repairs, you decide to 
refinance. Predatory lending includes “loan flipping.” 
This is when a lender convinces the homeowner to 
refinance several times. The lender entices you by 
promising cash or much lower mortgage payments. 
However, the refinancing may include an excessively 
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high interest rate, unnecessary closing costs, or an 
undisclosed “balloon payment.” 

Living Trust Scams
Living trusts can be legitimate and a valuable estate 
planning tool. However, living trust scams are a 
growing concern as they are not appropriate for all 
people. Do your homework before getting a living 
trust. A trust is a person or organization that owns, 
holds, or manages your assets for the benefit of 
yourself or another. A living trust is when you create 
a trust while you are living. Property is moved into 
a trust, and the trustee (the person in charge of the 
trust) manages the property for the benefit of the 
beneficiaries. 

Generally, people with lower incomes or small estates 
don’t need a living trust. There are many false and 
misleading statements about the costs and benefits 
of living trusts. Some people may exaggerate the 
cost and length of probate, falsely imply AARP 
endorsement, tell you the court will force or could 
force you into a guardianship, or tell you that a living 
trust is the only way to protect yourself from probate 
and from the government taking your money. If you 
think you might need a living trust, talk to an estate 
planning attorney. 

Foreclosure Rescue Scams 
Run away from Rescue Scams! With the recent 
increase in the number of mortgage delinquencies 
and foreclosures, there has been an increase in the 
number of foreclosure rescue scams. These con 
artists create companies that advertise services to 
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help you and others avoid foreclosure. However, 
they make misleading promises, take large fees, or 
fraudulently induce you into transferring the deed 
(a legal document that gives someone title to real 
property) of your home. In the end, you’ve received 
no help and are out of a home and out of money. For 
example, the con artist slips the deed into a stack 
of documents and you end up signing your deed 
over to the con artist. Alternatively, the con artist 
promises to save your home from foreclosure for a 
fee by negotiating with the bank or mortgage lender 
and rarely stops the foreclosure. 

What to do if you have been scammed.
If you have been scammed, report it to the Federal 
Trade Commission (FTC) and the Utah Division of 
Consumer Protection (see the “More Information” 
section on page 16 for contact information).

Identity Theft

What is identity theft? 
Some thieves want to steal your identity to profit 
from it. All they need is your name and Social 
Security Number to open an account and to buy 
goods or services in your name. This is a serious 
crime that can destroy your credit and cost you time 
and money. 
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Identity thieves will try anything to get your personal 
information. They will steal your wallet, go through 
your trash, and hack into your computer.

How do I prevent identity theft?

Be Very Cautious When Giving Out 
Personal Information

Don’t carry your •• Social Security card, passport, 
or birth certificate with you unless absolutely 
necessary.
Very few people other than your employer, ••
bank, Medicare, IRS, Medicaid, Motor Vehicle 
Department, brokerage, and the Social Security 
Administration (SSA) need your Social Security 
Number (SSN). 
If a company asks for your SSN, decline to ••
provide it. Ask if you can give an alternative form 
of identification. 

Be Careful about Your Trash
Buy a shredder. Shred any paper that contains ••
personal information, including receipts, bank 
statements, checks, and credit card offers. 

Protect Your Computer
Install anti-spyware and firewall software on your ••
computer to prevent unauthorized access to your 
computer.
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Beware of any email that looks like it’s from a ••
legitimate company but states that your account 
has been compromised and you need to go to the 
link provided in the email. This is called phishing. 
The email is not from that company, but a scam. 
The link in the email takes you to a similar but 
fake website where you are asked to put in your 
personal information. Forward any phishing 
emails to the FTC at spam@uce.gov. 

How will I know if my identity has been stolen?

Warning Signs of Identity Theft Include: 
Your bills are late or don’t arrive.••

Your mail is forwarded.••

You are denied credit for no reason. ••

You receive bills for things you didn’t purchase. ••

To detect identity theft you should review 
your financial statements and credit reports for 
discrepancies. Request a free copy of your credit 
report once a year from the Annual Credit Report 
Request Service or order a copy of your credit report 
from one of the major consumer credit reporting 
companies in the “More Information” section (page 
16). 
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What should I do if I am a victim of 
identity theft? 

If You Are a Victim of Identity Theft: 

File a Police Report
This will prove to creditors that you are a victim of 
identity theft.

Contact a Major Consumer Credit 
Reporting Company
Ask that a fraud alert be placed on your credit report. 
This requires companies to call you before they 
extend credit under your name and SSN (see the 
“More Information” section on page 16 for contact 
information). 

Close Tampered Accounts
Call the places where fraudulent accounts were 
tampered with or opened. Talk to someone in the 
fraud or security department. Ask them to close the 
account. Follow up with a written letter, and include 
supporting documents. Ask for a letter confirming 
that the account was closed and the debts were 
discharged. 

File a Report and Complaint
File a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission. 
Also, file a report with the Utah Attorney General’s 
Office (see the “More Information” section on page 
17 for contact information). 
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Junk Mail

How do I get rid of junk mail?
Contact the Direct Marketing Association and 
request that your name be taken off mailing lists 
and that it not be sold or given to companies (see the 
“More Information” section on page 17). Don’t fill 
out consumer and marketing surveys or sweepstakes 
entry forms.

Telemarketers

How do I stop telemarketers from calling?
Hanging up only temporarily resolves the issue. 
There are better and more permanent ways to get 
telemarketers to stop calling. When the telemarketer 
calls, cut them off by saying, “We don’t want to 
receive calls from your company. Put this number 
on your Do-Not-Call list.”

Prevent Telemarketing Calls:
Register with the Do-Not-Call Registry at 888-••
382-1222 or www.donotcall.gov. 
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Don’t fill out consumer and marketing surveys, ••
warranty registration cards (you get warranty 
rights without the card), or sweepstakes entry 
forms. 
When doing business with companies, including ••
charities, ask them to not “rent” or “sell” your 
number to any other organization. 

What rules do telemarketers have to follow?

Telemarketers Cannot: 
Call before 8 a.m. or after 9 p.m.••

Call if your number is on the Do-Not-Call list ••
(unless there is an exception).
Deceive you to get you to sign up with the ••
company.
Fail to identify themselves.••

Block their telephone number from your caller ••
identification service.
Misrepresent their product or service.••

If telemarketers violate these rules, you can file a 
complaint with the Utah Division of Consumer 
Protection (DCP), Federal Communications 
Commission (FCC), or the Federal Trade 
Commission (FTC). You can also file a lawsuit.
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Door-To-Door Salesmen

How do I get my money back from a  
door-to-door salesman?

The law protects you from door-to-door salesmen 
by giving you three business days to cancel the sale 
or the contract (a legal agreement between two or 
more parties). The rule applies if the salesman came 
to your home or to any place other than his place 
of business. However, this right to cancel does not 
cover purchases under $25. 

To cancel the sale, send a written notice to the seller 
at the address listed on the contract. The notice must 
state that you don’t want the goods or services. Mail 
the notice before midnight on the third business 
day. Send the notice by certified mail, with a return 
receipt request, and keep a copy for your records.

Generally, the salesman must give you back any 
payments you made within 30 days after the 
cancellation. You must return, within a reasonable 
time, any goods the salesman gave you. 
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Contractors

What should I know before hiring a contractor?
Most of us at some time or another will hire a 
contractor to do a home repair or improvement. 
There are many contractors who do a great job, but 
there are some who do not. They may do substandard 
work, overcharge for “improvements,” or not finish 
the job. 

When Hiring a Contractor:
Always get estimates for the job from two or three ••
contractors who are recommended by friends or 
family. 
Speak to others who have hired the contractor. ••
Ask about the quality, cost, and timeliness of the 
work. 
Check the •• Better Business Bureau (BBB) of Utah 
for complaints against the contractor. Make sure 
that the contractor has a business license and 
liability insurance by contacting the Utah Division 
of Occupational and Professional Licensing.
Make sure that the contractor agrees to the ••
following in writing: the price; a summary of the 
work to be done and materials to be used; start date 
and the estimated completion date; responsibility 
for clean up; guarantees; and financing and credit 
terms, if applicable.
Agree in advance that full payment is not due ••
until the work is complete. 
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What contractors should I avoid?

Avoid Contractors Who:
Tell you the repair is urgent, when in reality it is ••
not. 
Quote a price, then raise it because materials must ••
be substituted.
Don’t give out their business address and only use ••
a P.O. box.
Come to your door seeking business. ••

Ask for a deposit, especially a large deposit.••

Can a contractor put a lien on my house?
If you fail to pay a contractor for labor, materials, 
or equipment, the contractor may file a mechanic’s 
lien against your home. A mechanic’s lien is a claim 
against your property for the cost of the contractor’s 
work. If you don’t pay the contractor, he or she can 
go to court and force the sale of your home. Once 
you have paid in full, the contractor must cancel or 
remove the mechanic’s lien on your property. 

Reverse Mortgages

What is a reverse mortgage?
With a traditional mortgage, a lender finances the 
purchase of your home and you make monthly 
payments to the lender. To qualify, the lender checks 
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your income to determine how much you can afford 
to pay back each month, and the amount you owe 
on the loan decreases with each monthly repayment 
to the lender.

With a “reverse” mortgage, you receive money 
from the lender and the loan is secured by your 
principal residence. Generally, there are no monthly 
repayments as long as you live in the home, and 
therefore, you do not need an income to qualify 
for a reverse mortgage. The amount you owe on the 
loan increases each time you receive money from the 
lender, and the interest is added to the outstanding 
loan balance. The loan is repaid when you sell your 
home, when you die, or when you no longer live 
there as your principal residence. If your home is 
sold and the lender is repaid, any money left over 
goes to you, your estate, or your heirs.

Why do people get a reverse mortgage?
A reverse mortgage can help a homeowner stay in 
their home and convert part of the equity in their 
home into cash. Many seniors use it to meet financial 
obligations, finance home repairs or improvements, 
pay health care expenses, and more.

What costs are involved in a reverse mortgage?

When Considering a Reverse Mortgage, Be 
Aware That:

Lenders generally charge closing and other fees ••
for a reverse mortgage.
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Your total debt increases over time as loan funds are ••
given to you and the interest is charged on the balance.
The reverse mortgage may have a fixed or ••
adjustable rate. If it has an adjustable rate, it will 
likely change according to market conditions.
Reverse mortgages use up some or all of the equity ••
in your home, leaving fewer assets or no assets for 
you and your heirs.
Because you retain title to your home, you still ••
have to pay for property taxes, insurance, utilities, 
repairs, and other expenses.
The interest on a reverse mortgage is not deductible ••
on income tax returns until the loan is paid off in 
whole or part.

Should I get a reverse mortgage?
A reverse mortgage should be a last resort option. 
For most people, their house is their largest asset. 
Keeping this financial safety net as long as possible 
is recommended. 

So you should be cautious and research your options 
before talking to a lender about a reverse mortgage. 
If you are considering a reverse mortgage as a way 
to remain living in your present home, compare it 
to selling your home and using the proceeds to buy 
or rent a new home. 

If someone tries to sell you something, such as an 
annuity, and suggests that a reverse mortgage is an 
easy way to pay for it, be skeptical. You should fully 
understand what you are buying and the cost of a 
reverse mortgage.
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More Information

SCAMS
Report scams

Federal Trade Commission
877-FTC-HELP (382-4357)
www.ftc.gov

Utah Division of Consumer Protection
800-721-SAFE (721-7233)
801-530-6601
www.dcp.utah.gov

Information about scams
National Consumer Law Center
www.consumerlaw.org

National Fraud Information Center
www.fraud.org

IDENTITY THEFT
Check your credit report and report identity theft

Annual Credit Report Request Service
877-322-8228
www.annualcreditreport.com

Equifax
800-525-6285 (fraud alert)
800-685-1111 (credit reports) 
www.equifax.com

Experian
888-397-3742 (fraud alert and credit reports) 
www.experian.com

TransUnion
800-680-7289 (fraud alert)
800-916-8800 (credit reports)
www.transunion.com
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Report identity theft
Utah Attorney General’s Office, Identity Theft Reporting
www.idtheft.utah.gov

Federal Trade Commission’s Identity Theft Hotline
877-IDTHEFT (438-4338)
www.ftc.gov/idtheft

TELEMARKETERS
Register your phone number on the  
National Do-Not-Call Registry

888-382-1222
www.donotcall.gov

File a complaint against a telemarketer
Utah Division of Consumer Protection
800-721-7233
801-530-6601
www.dcp.utah.gov

Federal Communications Commission
888-CALL-FCC (225-5322)
www.fcc.gov

Federal Trade Commission
877-FTC-HELP (382-4357)
www.ftc.gov

JUNK MAIL
Get your name removed from mailing lists by registering 
for the mail preference service

Direct Marketing Association
www.dmachoice.org
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CONTRACTORS
Check complaints against contractors or file a complaint

Better Business Bureau of Utah
800-456-3907
801-892-6009
www.utah.bbb.org

Check contractor’s business license and liability 
insurance or file a complaint

Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
866-275-3675
801-530-6628
www.dopl.utah.gov

Information about hiring a contractor
Federal Trade Commission
www.ftc.gov

National Association of Home Builders
www.nahb.org

REVERSE MORTGAGE
Information about reverse mortgages

AARP Foundation
888-687-2277
www.aarp.org

DOOR-TO-DOOR SALES
File a complaint regarding door-to-door sales

Utah Division of Consumer Protection
800-721-7233
801-530-6601
www.dcp.utah.gov
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Chapter
2

Knowing Your  
Consumer Rights

In This Chapter, Learn:
How to Resolve a �� Complaint with a Business
What to do Before Signing a �� Contract
About �� Verbal Contracts
How to Write a Simple �� Contract
Your �� Utility Rights
How to �� Dispute a Collection Debt
The Basics of �� Bankruptcy
About Much More��
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Complaints

How do I resolve a complaint with a business?
So you have a problem with a business. Maybe it was 
a contractor who didn’t do a good job, or a company 
that didn’t give you your money back. If this happens 
you may try the following: call the business and try 
to work it out, write a demand letter, call the Better 
Business Bureau (BBB) and the Utah Division of 
Consumer Protection, and, in some cases, it may be 
appropriate for you to file a lawsuit. 

Try Working It Out 
Your first approach should be to resolve this issue ••
directly with the business. 

Write a Demand Letter 
If you are unable to work out the issue, a demand ••
letter states your complaint and explains how you 
want the company to resolve the issue. 

File a Complaint with the Utah Better 
Business Bureau 

If you have a dispute with a company, you can ••
file a complaint with the Utah Better Business 
Bureau. The BBB acts as a mediator between the 
consumer and the company. 
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File a Complaint with the Utah Division of 
Consumer Protection

If you have questions about a specific transaction, ••
you may contact the Utah Division of Consumer 
Protection. If it is determined that your complaint 
involves a matter that is handled by this Division, 
you can fill out the Complaint Form. (The 
Division handles telemarketing fraud, identity 
theft, and door-to-door sales, among many other 
types of consumer issues.) Send the complaint 
with relevant documents supporting your claim.

Utah Small Claims Court
If your claim (the amount you are seeking) is ••
$10,000 or under, you can file a lawsuit in Utah 
small claims court. You do not need an attorney 
to sue in small claims court. 

Demand Letter

How do I write a demand letter?

Use the Following Tips to Write a Good 
Demand Letter.

Try to keep the letter to one page.••

Address the letter to the company’s president. ••

On the envelope write in bold “for immediate and ••
personal attention.”
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Provide a copy of the letter to the BBB and other ••
consumer protection organizations, such as the 
Utah Division of Consumer Protection.

The letter should have four main parts. 

Say Something Positive
Start the letter by stating something positive about ••
the company. For example, discuss how long you 
have been a satisfied customer.

State the Problem
Be specific: include the date it occurred, what ••
happened, and whom you spoke to in the company 
about the issue.

Tell Them What You Want
State what you expect the company to do in return ••
(for example, an apology, refund, exchange) and 
when you would like a response. 

Include Your Contact Information
Include your contact information so that the ••
company can reply to your letter.
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Contracts

What should I do before signing a contract?
When buying, selling, or trading goods or services ••
you enter into a contract. Many people never read 
the contract before signing it, which makes them 
unsure as to the agreed-upon legal and financial 
obligations.
Before you sign a contract, stick to this important ••
rule — read and understand every word in the 
contract.
If you don’t understand any part of the contract, ask ••
questions or consult an attorney or knowledgeable 
friend.
If you need more time, take a copy of the contract ••
to review before you sign it.
If there are blank spaces in the contract to be filled ••
in later, don’t sign the contract.
If you and the other party agree on something ••
that is not written in the document, add it to the 
contract. All parties must then initial the change.
If you sign a contract, keep a copy.••

What if I make a verbal contract?
People often make verbal contracts. You might loan 
a friend some money or sell a TV to a neighbor on a 
verbal agreement. While many verbal contracts are 
legally enforceable, they are very difficult to prove. 
It is wise to put any agreement in writing. 
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When should I have a written contract, and do I 
need an attorney for it?

You should request a written contract whenever you 
make a major purchase, take out a loan, arrange for 
home repairs, or buy or sell real estate. If the contract 
is complex, you should ask an attorney to review it. 
Remember that it would be better and cost less to 
have an attorney review the contract before signing 
it than to have an attorney represent you in court 
afterwards because you signed a contract that you 
should not have signed. 

How do I write a simple contract?
For small simple sales, such as the sale of a TV to 
a relative or neighbor, you should be able to draft a 
simple written contract yourself. There is no special 
language needed, but you should include the date 
and terms of the agreement and have all parties sign 
it.

Utilities

Can a utility company shut off my service?

If you don’t pay your bill, the utility 
company can terminate your service. The 
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utility company must take the following 
steps before terminating your service*:

Give you information on how you can avoid ••
termination, such as how to set up a deferred 
payment plan, and how to request an extension 
based on a medical necessity.
Notify you, a residential customer, in advance ••
before shutting off your service: seven days for the 
phone utility companies and ten days for other 
utilities.
Contact you by mail, telephone, or personal visit ••
at least two days before terminating your service. 
During the winter months (October 1 to March ••
31), non-telephone utility companies must contact 
you by either telephone or a personal visit to your 
residence. 
Continue your services for a specified time period ••
(usually no more than 30 days) if someone in your 
household is seriously ill and you provide a doctor’s 
statement showing that shutting off services will 
aggravate the illness.

(*This does not apply to wireless phone service)

What if I have a dispute with a utility company?
The first thing you should do is contact the utility 
company to tell them you have a dispute. If the 
dispute is over a bill, you should continue to pay the 
non-disputed part of the bill. 

If you are unable to resolve the dispute, you can file 
an informal complaint with the Utah Division of 
Public Utilities. 
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Debt Collection

What happens if I can’t pay my bills?
If you are late in paying your bills, loan, or mortgage, 
your account might be sent to a collection agency. 
While you are obligated to pay your bills, the Fair 
Debt Collections Act regulates what a collection 
agent can and cannot do. 

What can’t debt collectors do?

Generally, Debt Collectors Cannot: 
Call you before 8 a.m. or after 9 p.m., harass you, ••
or use profane language.
Call you at work if they know your employer ••
prohibits calls.
Contact you after you have told them in writing ••
to cease contact, except to tell you they are taking 
a specific action regarding the debt.
Contact friends or inform others that you owe ••
money.
Threaten to take your property unless it is legal ••
to do so. 
Threaten to file criminal charges or harm you.••

Collect your •• Social Security to pay your debt. 
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If I dispute the debt what should I do? 

Within five days of first contacting you, 
the collector must tell you the following in 
writing: 

How much you owe. ••

The name of the creditor (whom you owe).••

What you can do if you dispute the charge.••

Unless you dispute the debt within 30 days, it will ••
be assumed valid.
If you dispute the debt, you must write to the ••
collection agency within 30 days of receiving 
the first letter. To provide proof that you sent 
the letter send it by certified mail with return 
receipt requested. Upon receiving your letter, the 
collection agency will send you verification of the 
debt. The debt collector must stop contacting you 
until they send that verification. 

Bankrupcty

What does it mean to file for bankruptcy?
When you file for bankruptcy you are stating that 
you don’t have enough money to pay your bills and 
outstanding loans. Bankruptcy, when used properly, 
is a way to start a clean slate, reduce your debt, or 
develop a debt repayment plan. 
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Is filing for bankruptcy a good idea?
Bankruptcy should only be considered when you 
are in dire need. You need to consider the burden 
you cause to others when you are unable to pay your 
financial commitments. Also, bankruptcy affects 
your credit for up to 10 years. It will be difficult to 
obtain credit, a loan, or a mortgage. If you are able 
to get a loan, it may be at a higher interest rate.

Are there alternatives to filing for bankruptcy?
One alternative to bankruptcy is to negotiate a debt 
repayment plan or loan modification with your 
creditors.

What are the types of personal bankruptcy?
There are two common types of consumer 
bankruptcy — chapter 7 and chapter 13 under the 
Bankruptcy law. Whether you file a chapter 7 or 
chapter 13 case will depend on your situation, your 
income, and what kind of debt you have. 
In a chapter 7 case, a bankruptcy trustee will sell 
your non-exempt unprotected property (e.g., stocks, 
bonds), if any, and distribute the money to your 
creditors. In a chapter 13 case, you ask the court to 
approve a debt repayment plan, where you pay all or 
a portion of your debts over three to five years. 

Can I file for bankruptcy without an attorney? 
While an individual can file for bankruptcy 
without an attorney, the new bankruptcy laws are 
complicated. Missing an important deadline or 
filing can affect your rights. Hiring an attorney is 
recommended.



Knowing Your Consumer Rights 

29

Co
ns

um
er

 R
ig

ht
s

More Information

COMPLAINTS
File a complaint against a company 

Utah Division of Consumer Protection
800-721-7233
801-530-6601
www.dcp.utah.gov

Better Business Bureau of Utah 
800-456-3907
801-892-6009
www.utah.bbb.org

Federal Trade Commission
877-FTC-HELP (382-4357)
www.ftc.gov

SMALL CLAIMS COURT
Information on filing a small claims suit

Utah State Courts’ Self-Help Resource Center
www.utcourts.gov/selfhelp
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UTILITIES
File a complaint against a utility company 

Utah Division of Public Utilities
PO Box 146751
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6751
800-874-0904
801-530-7622 (SLC)
www.publicutilities.utah.gov

BANKRUPTCY
Information on bankruptcy, such as how and whether 
you should file

Utah Legal Services
800-662-4245
801-328-8891
www.utahlegalservices.org

American Bankruptcy Institute
www.abiworld.org
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Preventing and 
Protecting Yourself  

From Abuse

In This Chapter, Learn:
Who the �� Victims and Abusers Are
Why Victims Don’t Report �� Abuse
About the Signs of �� Abuse
How to Protect Yourself from �� Financial 
Exploitation
How to Report �� Abuse
About Much More��
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Victims and Their Abusers 

Who are the victims and their abusers?
Abusers can be from all walks of life — friends, 
acquaintances, family members, or strangers. Abusers 
try to isolate and manipulate their victims so the 
victim will not tell someone about the abuse. They 
do this by preventing the victim from seeing friends, 
family members, and others. They also manipulate 
the victim into not trusting friends, while the abuser 
continues to gain the victim’s trust. 

Why don’t victims report abuse?
Perhaps you know someone who has been abused, 
or perhaps you have been a victim yourself and you 
have never told anyone about that abuse. There are 
many reasons victims fear reporting abuse, including 
the fear that: 

No one will help.••

The abuser will retaliate.••

The relationship with the abuser will be lost, and ••
the victim is dependent on the abuser.
The abuser will get into trouble. ••

Others will discover they have been abused.••
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Signs of Abuse

What are the signs of physical abuse?
Physical abuse occurs when a person is hurt in a way 
that causes injury or will likely cause injury. Signs of 
physical abuse include the following:

Unexplained bruises, fractures, or welts.••

Sprains, injuries, or open wounds.••

Abrasions and lacerations.••

What are the signs of emotional abuse?
Emotional abuse is the infliction of mental anguish 
or emotional distress. This occurs when a person 
is subjected to behavior such as yelling, swearing, 
ridiculing, harassing, or coercing. Signs of emotional 
abuse include the following:

Low self-esteem.••

Emotional outbursts. ••

Withdrawn attitude.••

What are the signs of neglect?
Neglect occurs when a person does not have basic 
necessities like food, water, clothing, shelter, medical 
care, and personal care. This can occur through a 
senior’s own neglect or a caretaker’s neglect. Signs 
of neglect include the following:

Lack of food, necessary medication, or medical ••
care.
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Weight loss, dehydration, or malnutrition.••

Filthy living conditions. ••

Poor hygiene.••

What are the signs of financial exploitation?
Financial exploitation occurs when a person is deprived 
of their assets (things that a person owns that have 
value). Signs of financial exploitation include: 

Disappearance of possessions or money.••

Sudden withdrawals or transfers of funds to ••
another person.
Inability to afford food, clothes, or social ••
activities.
Money spent on items that the senior does not ••
need.
Changing a name on a deed may be cause for a ••
concern (see below).
Because financial abuse is so prevalent, the ••
following section provides warning signs and 
helpful tips on how to protect yourself.

Financial Exploitation

Who is doing the financial exploitation?
The most important thing is to be careful about 
everyone, including family members. Most people 
don’t believe financial exploitation can happen 
within their own family, but three out of four 
perpetrators are family members.
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How can I protect myself from financial exploitation?

Ask for Help from Someone You Trust 
Financial matters can be confusing and difficult. If 
you have questions or need assistance, ask for help 
from a trusted family member, friend, clergy, or 
other professional.

Stay Socially Active
Social isolation increases your risk of becoming a 
victim of abuse. Learn about the many programs in 
your community that encourage seniors to socialize, 
including senior center programs. Contact your local 
Area Agency of Aging (AAA) for more information 
(see listing in Appendix A).

Choose an Agent Carefully 
Choose an agent (someone you choose who has 
the authority to act on your behalf) for a Financial 
Power of Attorney (a power of attorney that gives an 
agent authority to make financial decisions for you) 
that you trust, who is reliable, and who has your 
best interest in mind. You should hire an attorney to 
draft a financial power of attorney (see chapter 9).

Limit the Power Given to Your Agent
To avoid a potentially abusive situation, be very 
careful not to grant broad authority to your agent. 
Clearly state what rights you are granting and 
limit your agent’s authority to what is needed. For 
example, if you only want someone to pay your bills 
from your checking account, only give your agent 
the right to access that account. 
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Appoint a Monitor 
Occasionally, agents misuse a Financial Power of 
Attorney by transferring property without paying a 
fair amount for the property or by trying to pressure 
or mislead you into a financial decision that is not in 
your best interest. Appoint a monitor to oversee your 
agent to ensure the agent is properly using his or her 
authority.

Be Careful of Joint Accounts and Other 
Accounts
Although joint bank accounts (a bank account that 
has two or more people who have the same rights to 
the account) are convenient, they are also risky. Both 
people have access to the money in the account. For 
example, if you have a joint account with your nephew 
and he fails to pay back a loan, the creditor can take 
the money from the joint account to satisfy your 
nephew’s debt. There are better ways to allow people 
to manage your money. Talk to an attorney about an 
appropriate option for you. In addition, you should 
never let someone borrow your ATM card, credit card, 
or give them blank checks. Frequently monitor all 
your account statements and check your credit report 
annually.  According to a recent study, Utah seniors lose 
around $52 million dollars a year due to exploitation.

Be Extremely Cautious in Deeding Real 
Property
Although there may be legitimate legal reasons for 
deeding your house to your children, it is not wise 
to do this while living and without legal consult.  
Once you have deeded your home, you no longer 
have the rights to live in it or sell it.  While you may 
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think that your children would never kick you out 
of your home, it does happen.

Reporting Abuse

How do I report abuse?
It can be difficult to report abuse, especially since 
abusers are often family members. However, no one 
should have to tolerate abuse, and you may have to 
report it to make it stop. If you are being abused, the 
most important thing you can do is tell someone 
you trust — a friend, a religious leader, a doctor, a 
family member, or Adult Protective Services (APS). 

If you believe that another senior is the subject of 
abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation, Utah law 
requires you to report the abuse to APS or the 
nearest law enforcement office. If you fail to report 
abuse you could be charged with a misdemeanor (a 
lesser crime than a felony). Even if you are uncertain 
about the situation, it is best to err on the side of 
reporting the suspected abuse to APS. 

APS is a government organization that assists 
vulnerable and elder adults in need of protection to 
prevent or discontinue abuse. All calls and reports 
are confidential. 
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more information

ABUSE
Report any suspected abuse of a senior 

Utah Adult Protective Services 
800-371-7897
www.hsdaas.utah.gov

Information on abuse
National Committee for the Prevention of Elder Abuse
www.preventelderabuse.org
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Chapter
4

Caring for 
Grandchildren

In This Chapter, Learn:
How to form a Legal Relationship with Your ��
Grandchild
How to Enroll a �� Grandchild in School
How to Get �� Visitation Rights
How to Establish �� Kinship
About �� Guardianship
The Basics of �� Adoption
About Much More��
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Caring for 
Grandchildren

What should I know if I am caring for a grandchild?
It is common for parents to ask grandparents to care 
for their children while they are ill, on vacation, 
in jail, or simply not available. This could mean 
taking care of grandchildren for a few days or a 
few years. If this is the case, consider establishing a 
legal relationship so you have the authority to make 
medical, educational, and other decisions for your 
grandchild. Five types of legal relationships with 
your grandchild are discussed below — a delegation 
of parental powers, visitation, kinship, guardianship, 
and adoption. Each relationship establishes different 
authority and requires different responsibilities. 

Delegation Of 
Parental Powers

Can I make decisions for my grandchildren if their 
parents are away?

Yes, if the parents give you the authority to do 
so through a “delegation of parental powers” 
document. This type of legal relationship is fitting 
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for those caring for their grandchildren for a few 
days or more. 

What is a delegation of parental powers? 
A delegation of parental powers is a legal document 
that a parent (or guardian of a minor child or 
incapacitated person) creates to give another 
person authority to make decisions. The parent 
still maintains all rights and responsibilities, but a 
delegation of powers gives another person the right 
to also make decisions regarding the child or ward.

Parents can give almost any power they want, such 
as the power to enroll a child in school or make a 
medical decision. However, there are some powers 
they cannot give, such as the power to adopt or 
consent to marry. Most often, parents create such 
a delegation so that if an emergency happens while 
they are gone, the grandparent has authority to 
make medical decisions for the grandchild. 

This document is usually created when parents 
leave their children in the care of family members 
or friends for longer than a few days. A delegation 
of powers can last for any time period up to six 
months. 

Do I need an attorney for a delegation of powers?
No, you can use a form that is available online at the 
Utah State Courts’ Self-Help Resource Center (see 
the “More Information” section on page 48). 
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School Enrollment

How do I enroll my grandchild in school? 
You can enroll a child in school with a delegation 
of parental powers document, guardianship, or 
custody agreement. In some cases, you may enroll 
your grandchild in school under the McKinney-
Vento Act. This law states that a homeless child who 
is living with a relative on a temporary or emergency 
basis can be enrolled in school by that relative. The 
relative does not have to provide the necessary 
documents required for enrollment such as medical 
records, previous school records, birth certificate, 
and proof of residency. If you are using this law to 
enroll a child, ask to speak to the school’s liaison for 
homeless children. 

Visitation Rights

What are grandparent visitation rights?
Visitation rights are court-ordered rights given to 
grandparents to visit and spend time with their 
grandchildren. It is a legal remedy available under 
state law to grandparents who are being prevented 
from seeing their grandchildren. 
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How do I get visitation rights?
First, try to work out a solution with the parents 
without going to court. If that does not work, 
consider working with a mediator as soon as 
possible. Mediation is a great way to resolve family 
issues, especially at the beginning of a dispute. In 
mediation, both sides sit down with a mediator to 
voice concerns, listen, and come up with a resolution 
that is in the best interest of the parties. It often 
saves time and money, and it can do a lot to preserve 
family unity.

If mediation does not resolve the issue, you have 
the right to file a petition (written request) to the 
court asking for grandparent visitation rights. A 
grandparent may also file a petition in a pending (a 
case that has not been decided) divorce, custody, or 
visitation proceeding, asking for visitation rights. 

Is it difficult to get visitation rights?
Yes, the court presumes that the parents’ decision 
about visitation is always in the best interest of 
the grandchild until proven otherwise. Thus, 
grandparents will have to prove in court that 
visitation is in the best interest of the child. This 
is another reason why mediation is a preferred 
option. 

The court will consider various factors in determining 
whether visitation is in the best interest of the child, 
such as whether:

The grandparent is a “fit and proper person” to ••
have visitation,
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Visitation with the grandchild has been denied or ••
unreasonably limited,
The parent is unfit or incompetent,••

The grandparent has had a substantial relationship ••
with the grandchild and the loss will harm the 
grandchild, and
The parent of the grandchild has been missing ••
from the child’s life for an extended period of time 
because of death, divorce, or loss of custody.

Kinship Care

My grandchild has been removed from the family 
home. Can he or she live with me?

Maybe. Kinship care is similar to temporary foster 
care. When children are removed from the parents’ 
custody, a relative can care for the children on an 
emergency basis and possibly long-term. The purpose 
of kinship care is to reduce the trauma for the child 
by placing him or her with persons who are known 
and trusted. 

For a child, to be considered for kinship placement, 
the relative must agree to a number of requirements, 
such as not allowing unauthorized contact with the 
parents or guardians, not discussing the events that 
led to removal, and providing information regarding 
the home environment of the placement. As always, 
the child’s best interest is the most important factor. 
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Those who have kinship care can apply for financial 
and medical assistance for their grandchild (called 
a “specified relative grant”) from the Utah Division 
of Workforce Services. This aid is not based on the 
grandparent’s need, but on the child’s assets (things 
that the child owns that have value) and income.

Guardianship

How do I care for my grandchild for an extended 
period of time?

A legal guardianship is fitting if you are planning 
to care for a grandchild for an extended period of 
time. It is also a more fixed relationship as the parent 
cannot remove the child from the home without first 
going to court to terminate the guardianship. 

A guardian is someone who is legally responsible 
for the care of another person. A guardianship 
gives those rights and responsibilities to a court-
appointed guardian that are like those of a parent 
who has legal custody of a minor child. The parents 
retain their right and responsibility to support their 
child, the right to consent to adoption, the right to 
determine the child’s religious affiliation, and the 
right to reasonable parent time — unless the court 
forbids it. 
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How do I obtain a guardianship? 
You file a petition with the court. The court will 
always consider the best interest of the child. The 
court may also consider whether the parents are alive, 
whether there was a nomination of a guardian in the 
parents’ wills, whether the child was abandoned, or 
whether the parents consented to the guardianship. 
Gaining the parents’ consent makes the process 
easier. If the parents have died or cannot be found, 
you must demonstrate this to the court. Parents 
have the right to contest the guardianship, which, 
makes the process more difficult.

Do I need an attorney to get a guardianship?
You don’t need an attorney to petition the court 
for a guardianship; rather, you can do it on your 
own using the “Online Court Assistance Program” 
(OCAP; see the “More Information” section on 
page 48). If the guardianship is contested you are 
encouraged to hire an attorney.

What are my responsibilities as a guardian?
If you are appointed as guardian, you must provide 
the child with basic shelter, food, education, and 
clothing. You are not required to pay for the child’s 
expenses out of your own funds. A legal guardian 
can also apply for public assistance to care for the 
child. Once you become a guardian, you must file 
an annual report with the court as long as the child 
is a minor (unless the guardianship was established 
only to enroll the child in school). For annual 
reporting forms go to the Utah State Courts’ Self 
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Help Resource Center (see the “More Information” 
section on page 48).

Adoption

What is adoption?
When parents become unable to care for a child, 
grandparents will often want to adopt their 
grandchild. Adoption terminates the rights of the 
natural parents and gives full parental rights to 
another person.

Is it difficult to adopt a grandchild?
To adopt your grandchild, the natural parents’ 
parental rights must be terminated. If the natural 
parents agree to the adoption, the process is much 
easier. However, if either parent contests the adoption, 
it is much more difficult because courts favor the 
parents’ rights. Terminating parental rights to adopt 
in a contested matter requires a three-step process: 
(1) proving to the court that the natural parents are 
unfit; (2) demonstrating that it is in the best interest 
of the child to terminate the natural parent’s rights; 
(3) and qualifying for adoption. In Utah, a hearing 
(a preliminary legal proceeding in court where you 
present your side of the case) is required to terminate 
parental rights. 
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More Information

GRANDPARENT
Seminars and support groups on grandparenting issues

Children’s Service Society of Utah Grandfamilies Program
800-839-7444
801-355-7444
www.cssutah.org

Resources for grandparents caring for their grandchildren
AARP
www.aarp.org

Information on kinship care
Utah Division of Child and Family Services
801-538-4100
www.dcfs.utah.gov

Kinship financial assistance
Utah Department of Workforce Services
801-526-9675
www.jobs.utah.gov

MEDIATION AND VISITATION
Legal mediation for those with low and moderate income

Utah Dispute Resolution 
877-697-7175
801-532-4841 (SLC)
801-689-1720 (Ogden)
www.utahdisputeresolution.org

GUARDIANSHIP
Information on guardianship of a minor

Utah State Courts’ Online 
Court Assistance Program
www.utcourts.gov/ocap

Utah State Courts’ Self-Help Resource Center
www.utcourts.gov
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Chapter
5

Learning About Benefits

In This Chapter, Learn:
About �� Social Security Benefits
How to Apply for �� Social Security
How to �� Appeal Social Security Decisions
About �� Veteran Benefits
About �� Pensions
What to Do if Your �� Pension is Denied
About Much More��
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Social Security

What is Social Security?
Social Security provides monetary benefits to 
workers who have retired, workers who have become 
disabled, and families of workers.

Am I eligible for Social Security retirement benefits?
To be eligible for retirement benefits, there are two 
qualifications. First, you must be “insured” under 
Social Security. As you work and pay taxes, you 
earn Social Security “credits” for quarters of work. 
Most people need 40 calendar quarters, or 10 years 
of work to be fully insured for benefits. If you stop 
working, the quarters you worked will be on record 
and you may continue to accumulate credits if you 
work again.

Second, you must be at least age 62 and a U.S. 
citizen residing in the U.S. or a permanent non-
citizen resident lawfully present in the U.S.
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Social Security 
Retirement

How much will I get in Social Security retirement 
benefits?

The benefits you receive from Social Security depend 
on the amount you earn over your lifetime, your 
age at retirement, and other factors. The higher your 
income, the higher your benefits will be. To estimate 
your retirement benefits, ask the Social Security 
Administration (SSA) for a Social Security benefits 
statement or use the calculator on the SSA’s website 
(see the “More Information” section on page 64).

At what age can I start receiving Social Security 
retirement benefits?

You may start receiving full benefits at age 65 or 
above (see chart below). If you need benefits earlier, 
you can receive them as early as age 62. However, 
if you retire early, your benefits will be reduced for 
as long as you receive them. For example, if you 
retire at age 62, your benefits could be reduced up 
to 30%.

At what age will I receive full Social Security 
retirement benefits?

The date for “full retirement” depends on your birth 
date. If you were born before 1938, you may take full 
retirement benefits at age 65. If you were born in or 
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after 1938, the full retirement age is raised gradually 
until it reaches 67. For example, if you were born in 
1939 you can retire with full benefits at age 65 years 
and 4 months (see chart).

Eligibility Year For Full Social Security
Year Born Full Retirement Age

1937 or earlier 65 years old
1938 65 and 2 months
1939 65 and 4 months
1940 65 and 6 months
1941 65 and 8 months
1942 65 and 10 months

1943-54 66
1955 66 and 2 months
1956 66 and 4 months
1957 66 and 6 months
1958 66 and 8 months
1959 66 and 10 months

1960 and later 67

Can I delay receiving Social Security retirement 
benefits?

Yes. If you choose to wait to receive benefits and 
continue to work beyond full retirement age, you will 
earn delayed retirement credits for the months you 
work. When you decide to receive your retirement 
benefits, your monthly benefit will be higher.
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Can I receive Social Security retirement benefits and 
continue to work?

If you continue to work after reaching full retirement 
age, you will receive full Social Security benefits. If 
you choose to retire before reaching full retirement 
age, and you continue to work part-time, Social 
Security will reduce your benefits. 

Social Security 
Family Benefits

What are Social Security family benefits, and am I 
eligible?

Family members may receive benefits based on 
the worker’s eligibility for retirement or disability 
benefits. Family members eligible for these benefits 
include spouses, divorced spouses, and children. The 
discussion in this section presumes that the worker 
is living.

To be eligible, the worker must be entitled to receive 
benefits, and:

A spouse must have been married to the worker ••
for at least one year or be the natural parent of the 
worker’s child, and be at least age 62 or caring for 
a child eligible for benefits based on the worker’s 
account (minor under 16 or disabled).
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A divorced spouse must not be eligible for equal or ••
higher benefits under his or her own or another’s 
Social Security record, must be at least age 62, 
must have been married to the worker for at least 
10 years, and must be unmarried.
Dependent children must be unmarried and ••
under the age of 18 (or under age 19 if attending 
elementary or secondary school full-time). After 
age 18, a dependent child may receive benefits 
if he or she is disabled and the disability began 
before age 22.

Social Security Disability

What are Social Security disability benefits?
The SSA provides disability benefits under two major 
programs: the Social Security Disability Insurance 
(SSDI) program  and the Supplemental Security 
Income (SSI) program. The following discussion 
will provide general information on both of these 
benefits. For specific information on your situation, 
you should contact your local SSA office.

Am I eligible for Social Security Disability Insurance 
(SSDI) benefits?

To be eligible to collect Social Security Disability 
Insurance benefits, you must be “insured” under 
Social Security. You must also be able to prove the 
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severity of your disability, by showing that all of the 
following apply:

You have a medically certified physical or mental ••
disability.
That disability prevents you from engaging in ••
substantial gainful activity.
The disability has lasted or is expected to last for ••
at least 12 months or result in death.

Supplemental Security 
Income 

What is Supplemental Security Income (SSI)?
The Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program is 
based solely on need. It provides income to people 
who are 65 years and older or are blind or disabled. 
To qualify, receipients must have very limited 
income and resources and meet the requirements for 
citizenship or residency. A work history of amounts 
previously paid into the system is not needed to 
qualify. You may receive both Social Security 
Retirement (or Disability) benefits and SSI.

Am I eligible for SSI?
To be eligible for a SSI cash benefit, there are three 
qualifications:

1. You must be age 65 or older, blind, or disabled.
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2. You must have a limited income and resources.

3. You must also be a U.S. citizen residing in the 
U.S. or an eligible permanent non-citizen resident 
lawfully present in the U.S.

The definition of resources is complicated. It includes 
certain types of assets and excludes others. For 
example, the value of your home and your car are not 
deemed resources in calculating SSI eligibility. For 
more information on which resources are included 
and to see whether you qualify for SSI, you should 
contact your local SSA office. 

Applying For 
Social Security

How do I apply for Social Security benefits?
SSA allows you to apply for retirement benefits 
three months before you are eligible or before you 
want to begin receiving benefits. If you are applying 
for survivor or disability benefits, you should apply 
promptly.

You may call your local Social Security office or 
SSA at 800-772-1213 to schedule an appointment 
to apply for benefits. For some Social Security 
programs, you may be able to apply online. You 
can also locate your local Social Security office by 
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checking the SSA’s website at www.ssa.gov. When 
applying, you must have the following documents:

Your •• Social Security card or a record of your Social 
Security number.
Your birth certificate or proof of your date of ••
birth.
Marriage certificate for benefits going to a spouse ••
or children.
Divorce decree for benefits going to your former ••
spouse.
Dependent child’s •• Social Security number and 
birth certificate for benefits going to that child.
Your W-2 forms and income tax return for the ••
last year.
Proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful residence in ••
the U.S. 
If applying for survivor benefits, proof of worker’s ••
death.
Name of financial institution and account number ••
where you want to have your benefits deposited 
directly into your account. 
Military discharge papers if you served in the ••
military.

If I cannot manage my finances, what happens to my 
Social Security? 

If you are unable to manage your financial affairs, 
the Social Security Administration (SSA) must be 
advised that you need help. If it is in your best interest, 
the SSA will appoint a relative or a friend of yours, or 
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may choose an institution, such as a nursing home, 
as the representative payee. A representative payee 
is a person or organization authorized to receive 
Social Security checks for someone who is unable 
to manage their own financial affairs. The SSA will 
notify you in writing if they appoint a representative 
payee. 

Appealing Social Security

If I disagree with a Social Security decision, what can 
I do?

When a decision is made regarding your Social 
Security benefits or eligibility, the SSA will send 
you a letter explaining its decision. If you don’t 
agree with a Social Security decision regarding your 
benefits, you have the right to appeal (a request to 
challenge the decision). You have 60 days from the 
date you receive the SSA letter to file your request in 
writing. Generally, if you don’t appeal, the decision 
becomes final and you cannot appeal later.

What are the steps to appealing a Social Security 
decision?

In general, there are four steps to the appeals process, 
and there is a decision at each step. If you disagree 
with the initial decision, you typically have the right 
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to move to the next step within 60 days of receiving 
written notice. 

Reconsideration 
You must file a written request for reconsideration 
of your claim within 60 days after receiving the 
initial decision letter. Someone at the Social Security 
Administration (SSA) who did not participate in the 
first decision will review your claim. Written notice 
of the reconsideration decision should be sent within 
30 days (or longer if it concerns a disability claim).

Hearing 
If you don’t agree with the reconsideration decision, 
you may, within 60 days after receiving the decision, 
request a hearing before an Administrative Law 
Judge. The hearing may include witnesses, and you 
may have a representative assist you. 

Appeals Council and Federal Court 
For the last two levels of appeal, it is strongly 
recommended that you hire an attorney as these are 
technical levels of appeals. 

Veteran Benefits

What are veteran benefits?
The federal government offers to veterans of the 
United States Armed Forces and their dependents 
a broad range of programs and services provided 
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by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). These 
benefits include health care, disability benefits, 
education programs, home loans, life insurance, 
burial, and survivor benefits. 

Am I eligible for veteran benefits?
General eligibility for veteran benefits is based on 
being discharged from active military service under 
conditions other than dishonorable. Certain veteran 
benefits depend on individual circumstances. To 
determine eligibility, contact your local VA office.

What are the health care benefits for veterans?
The VA health care system is available to eligible 
veterans and includes hospitals, community clinics, 
nursing homes, counseling centers, and various 
other health care facilities. 

What are veteran disability benefits?
The VA offers monthly disability compensation to 
veterans with a service-connected disease, disability, 
or injury sustained or aggravated during active 
military service. The amount of VA disability 
compensation varies according to the degree of 
disability and the disabled veteran’s number of 
dependents. Military retirement pay and other 
separation payments may also affect the amount.

What are VA pensions?
Veterans with low incomes who are permanently 
disabled and are 65 years of age or older may be 
entitled to a pension benefit if they have 90 days 
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or more of active military service with at least one 
day of service during a period of war. The pension 
provides a monthly payment to bring the veteran’s 
total income to a level established by law. It may 
be reduced by other sources of income such as 
retirement or Social Security. (You should report all 
VA income to the SSA to avoid overpayment.)

What are veteran benefits for dependents and 
survivors?

The VA provides pensions to surviving spouses and 
unmarried children of deceased veterans. To be 
eligible, a spouse must not be remarried and a child 
must be under the age of 18 or under 23 if attending 
a VA-approved school, or permanently incapable of 
self-support because of a disability that began before 
age 18. This pension provides a monthly payment to 
bring the survivor’s total income to a level established 
by law. The payment may be reduced by income 
from other sources such as Social Security. 

Other benefits may be available to eligible veterans 
or their surviving spouses and children, including 
educational benefits, home loans, bereavement 
counseling, life insurance, medical care, and burial 
benefits. The burial benefits may include a grave site 
in a national cemetery, a headstone, a U.S. flag, and 
military funeral honors.

How do I apply for veteran benefits?
To apply for disability compensation and pension 
benefits, survivor benefits, or other veteran benefits, 
contact your local VA office. 
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Pensions

What are pensions?
Pensions are private employee benefit plans set up by 
a company or by an employee or union agreement. 
If you have worked for a company that offered a 
pension, you may be entitled to a pension upon 
retirement. 

There are minimum standards or rules for private 
pension plans established by federal laws. The most 
important federal law, the Employee Retirement 
Income Security Act (ERISA), covers most pension 
plans sponsored by companies and unions. ERISA 
does not cover plans sponsored by federal, state, and 
local governments, or religious organizations, which 
have their own rules. 

How do I locate my pension plan?
If you believe that you are entitled to pension benefits 
and you are unable to locate the plan, or if you think 
the plan has been terminated, contact the Pension 
Benefit Guaranty Corporation (PBGC), a federal 
agency that insures benefit amounts to a certain 
limit. PBGC has a pension search directory listing 
people who are entitled to pension benefits but have 
not received them due to the funding company’s 
inability to locate the individual. You can determine 
whether your benefits are insured by the PBGC by 
checking the company’s summary plan description. 
To search the pension search directory, contact the 
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PBGC (see the “More Information” section on page 
64).

Does social security affect my pension?
Under some plans, your pension benefits are 
“integrated” with Social Security benefits, which 
means that your pension payment could be lowered 
if you also receive Social Security. Under Federal 
law, such plans must provide you with at least half of 
your pension. This law applies only to years worked 
after 1988. For earlier years, your plan rules could 
leave you with no benefit after considering your 
Social Security payments.

What should I do if my pension is denied?
If you have been denied pension benefits, the pension 
plan administrator must inform you in writing and 
provide specific reasons for the decision. If you 
disagree with that decision and think you have been 
wrongfully denied benefits, you have the right to an 
appeal by the trustees of the plan. If you disagree 
with the decision by the trustees, you have the right 
to file a lawsuit in federal district court. Retaining 
an attorney who specializes in this area of law is 
recommended.
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more information

SOCIAL SECURITY
Administers Social Security benefits 

Social Security Administration
800-772-1213 
www.ssa.gov

VETERAN BENEFITS
Administers various benefits to veterans 

U. S. Department of Veterans Affairs
800-827-1000 
www.va.gov

Assists veterans with preparing and filing claims
Utah Department of Veterans Affairs
800-894-9497 
www.veterans.utah.gov

Disabled American Veterans
877-I-AM-A-VET (877-426-2838)
801-326-2375 
www.dav.org

National Veterans Legal Services Program
202-265-8305 
www.nvlsp.org

PENSIONS
Information regarding pensions and pension rules

Pension Rights Center
www.pensionrights.org

Regulates pension plans
Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation
800-400-7242
www.pbgc.gov
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Chapter
6

Obtaining Medical 
Insurance

In This Chapter, Learn:
What �� Medicare Covers
What �� Medicare Does Not Cover
How to Apply for �� Medicare
How to �� Appeal Medicare Decisions
About Additional Supplemental �� Insurance
About �� Medicaid 
Whether You Should Buy �� Long Term Care 
Insurance
Where to Go for �� Health Insurance Advice
About Much More ��
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Medicare

What Is Medicare?
Medicare is a health insurance program for those 65 
years or older, and people with certain disabilities, 
Lou Gehrig’s disease, or permanent kidney failure.

For the purposes of this book we will be discussing 
three major types of Medicare. Each type (Part 
A, Part B, and Part D) has different eligibility 
requirements and provides different services. (See 
charts below).

How can I receive Medicare?
Participants can choose to receive their benefits 
straight from Medicare, or they can choose a 
Medicare Advantage plan (otherwise known as 
Medicare Part C). 

Under Medicare Advantage you can choose to 
receive Medicare benefits from a private health 
insurance company such as a Preferred Provider 
Organization (PPO), a Medicare Medical Savings 
Account (MSA), Medicare Managed Care (ie, 
HMO), Medicare Special Needs Plan, or a private 
fee-for-service plan (PFFS). 

Each Medicare Advantage plan must offer you the 
minimum Medicare benefits. Medicare Advantage 
plans may also offer various additional benefits. If 
you choose Medicare Advantage, please research 
which provider and plan is best for you. 
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Medicare Benefits

What are the Medicare benefits?
The charts below summarize the minimum benefits 
of Medicare Parts A, B, and D — eligibility 
requirements, premiums, and services covered and 
not covered. To get the most current information, 
contact Medicare (see the “More Information” 
section on page 88).
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MEDICARE PART A
WHAT IS MEDICARE PART A?

•	Hospital insurance
WHO IS ELIGIBLE?

You are eligible if at least one of the following describes you:

You are at least 65 years old and eligible for •	 Social Security or 
Railroad Retirement benefits.

You have a disability and have been on •	 Social Security disability or 
Railroad Retirement disability for the last two years.

You are on dialysis because you have permanent kidney disease. •	

You have Lou Gehrig’s disease.•	
WHAT IS THE PREMIUM?

Nothing, if you meet the eligibility requirements stated above.•	

Around $248-$450 if you don’t meet the eligibility requirements •	
above.
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MEDICARE PART A
WHAT DOES IT COVER AND 

WHAT ARE THE DEDUCTIBLES?

Deductible Co-Payment 
(what you pay)

Hospitalization 
(semi-private room 
and board, general 
nursing, and other 
hospital services and 
supplies)

$1,132 in 2011 Days 1-60: no co-
payment, just pay the 
deductible.

Days 61-90: your co-
payment is $283 a day.

Days 91-150: (60 reserve 
days only used once) you 
pay $566 a day.

Days 151+: you pay all 
costs.

Skilled Nursing 
Facility

(semi-private room 
and board, skilled 
nursing services, 
inpatient drugs, 
physical, speech and 
occupational therapy)

None, but you 
must meet 
Medicare 
eligibility 
requirements for 
skilled nursing 
and therapies.

Days 1-20: no co-
payment.

Days 21-100: you pay up 
to $141.50 a day.

Days 100+: you pay all 
costs.

Home Health Care 
(skilled care, home 
health aides, speech 
and physical therapy, 
durable medical 
equipment)

None, but you 
must meet 
Medicare 
eligibility 
requirements 
for home health 
care.

For services: no co-
payment.

For durable medical 
equipment: you pay 20% 
of costs.

Hospice Care None, as long as 
doctor certifies 
the need.

Small co-payment for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care.
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MEDICARE PART B
WHAT IS MEDICARE PART B?

Medical insurance that covers medically necessary doctor services, •	
outpatient care, medical services, and some preventive services.

WHO IS ELIGIBLE?
Same as Part A eligibility, and you must be a U.S. citizen or must •	
have been a legal resident for at least five years.

WHAT IS THE PREMIUM?
Your monthly premium is around $100 a month. Premiums •	
increase yearly. 
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MEDICARE PART B
WHAT DOES IT COVER AND 

WHAT ARE THE DEDUCTIBLES?

Deductible Co-Payment 
(what you pay)

$162, general 
deductible 
before any 
Medicare Part B 
benefits begin

Medical Expenses

(doctor visits, 
medical services and 
supplies, physical 
therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment)

None, if 
medically 
necessary.

General medical expenses: 
you pay 20% of the 
approved amount and 
limited charges above the 
approved amount.

Outpatient mental health 
services: you pay 50%. 

Therapies have $1,870 per 
year limit for each type 
(speech, physical, and 
occupational).

Laboratory Tests None, if 
medically 
necessary.

No co-payment.

Home Health Care 
(skilled care, home 
health aides, durable 
medical equipment)

None, but you 
must meet 
Medicare 
eligibility 
requirements 
for home health 
care.

For services: no co-
payment.

For durable medical 
equipment: you pay 20% 
of costs.

Outpatient Hospital 
Treatment (diagnosis 
or treatment services) 

None, if 
medically 
necessary.

Billed Amount: generally 
you pay 20% (after the 
deductible).
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MEDICARE PART D
WHAT IS MEDICARE PART D?

•	Insurance for outpatient prescription medication.
WHO IS ELIGIBLE?

Anyone who is eligible for •	 Medicare Part A or is enrolled for 
Medicare Part B.

You may also qualify for “extra help” (from •	 Medicare to pay 
for medication) if your assets and resources are below a certain 
amount. Contact Medicare for more information. 

WHAT IS THE PREMIUM?
It depends on the plan you choose.•	
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MEDICARE PART D
WHAT DOES IT COVER AND 

WHAT ARE THE DEDUCTIBLES?
***(Please note due to the Health Care Act being passed changes are 
being made to Medicare Part D benefits)

Deductible Co-Payment 
(what you pay)

The Basic 
Prescription Drug 
Plan

up to $310 After paying your 
deductible, you pay 25% 
and Medicare pays for 
75% of your prescription 
drugs.

When your total drug 
costs (including your 
deductible and co-
payments) reach $2,840 
or more, you pay 100% 
of your prescription drugs 
until your coverage begins 
again or until your total 
drug costs reach $4,550.

When your total drug 
costs (including your 
deductible and co-
payments) reach $4,550, 
you pay only 5% of your 
drug costs or a small 
co-payment ($2.50 for 
generics and $6.30 for 
brand-name drugs).
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MEDICARE DOES NOT COVER
Read over the list below for specifics on what Medicare does not 
cover. 

MEDICARE PART A DOES NOT COVER
Medicare Part A does not cover:

Most nursing home care.•	

Full-time home health care.•	

Long-term care, including assisted living care, adult day care, and •	
nursing home care (this is different than skilled nursing care).

Personal care such as help dressing, bathing, and eating.•	

Cosmetic surgery.•	

Anything that is not reasonably and medically necessary.•	

Care while traveling abroad.•	
MEDICARE PART B DOES NOT COVER

Medicare Part B does not cover:

Acupuncture and homeopathy.•	

Dental care and services.•	

Routine physical examinations, unless it is an initial wellness exam •	
or if it is an exam as part of a diagnosis for a medical condition or 
complaint.

Vaccinations and immunization, unless you have been exposed or •	
are planning to travel abroad.

Eye and hearing exams; eyeglasses, contacts, and hearing aids.•	

Routine foot care.•	

Experimental procedures.•	

Anything that is not reasonably and medically necessary.•	
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MEDICARE DOES NOT COVER
MEDICARE PART D DOES NOT COVER

Medicare Part D does not cover:

Barbiturates (sedatives, drugs used to treat anxiety and certain •	
seizures).

Benzodiazepines (tranquilizers, drugs used to treat panic attacks •	
or seizure disorders).

Over-the-counter medications.•	

Weight loss or gain medications.•	

Drugs for erectile dysfunction.•	

•	Prescription vitamins.



Navigating Your Rights:  The Utah Legal Guide for Those 55 and Over

76

What are some of the major changes made to 
Medicare Part D from the Health Care Act?

In 2011 you will get a 50% discount from brand ••
name drugs when you are in the coverage gap.
Additional drug discounts by 2020.••

Eventually the coverage gap will shrink so you ••
will only pay for 25% of costs.

Applying For Medicare

Do I need to apply for Medicare Part A or am I 
automatically enrolled?

It depends. If you are currently receiving Social 
Security retirement, you will be automatically 
enrolled in Medicare Part A. However, you need to 
apply for Medicare if you are not receiving Social 
Security.

When can I apply for Medicare Part A? 
If you are not taking Social Security (see above), the 
soonest you can apply is three months before your 
65th birthday. However, there is a seven-month 
enrollment period during which you can apply. It 
consists of the three months before the month of 
your 65th birthday, the month of your birthday, and 
three months following your birthday month.
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When should I apply for Medicare Part B?
For Medicare Part B, the initial enrollment period 
is the same as Medicare Part A (see above). If you 
miss this enrollment period, you can sign up for 
Part B during the general enrollment period, which 
is between January 1 and March 31 of each year, 
with your coverage starting July 1.

What if I don’t sign up for Part B when I am 65?
A 10% penalty is added to your premium for each 
full 12-month period that you could have had Part 
B but did not sign up for it. There is an exception. 
No penalty will be added if you had comparable 
group medical insurance. You will have to sign up 
for Medicare Part B while you have the comparable 
insurance, during the eight-month period that begins 
the month employment ends, or the comparable 
insurance ends, whichever is first.

Appealing Medicare

What can I do if Medicare denies coverage? 
Medicare is a very complex program. You might be 
denied a benefit when it should have been granted. 

There may be times when Medicare decides that 
your stay in the hospital should end or they won’t 
pay the amount you believe they should. Oftentimes 
this is because of an error. 
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You have the right to appeal (a request to change) 
Medicare decisions. How you appeal depends on 
whether you are appealing a decision under Medicare 
Part A, Part B, Medicare Advantage (Part C), or 
Part D. 

For the purposes of this section we will only discuss 
the initial levels of appeals. Contact an attorney for 
more information. 

How do I appeal traditional Medicare  
(Part A or Part B)?

When Medicare denies coverage under Part A 
or B, you will first find out from the health care 
provider and from a Medicare Summary Notice 
(MSN). Mistakes are often made due to insufficient 
information or simple mistakes. The first thing you 
should do is call the Customer Services Information 
number on the MSN. 

How do I appeal a Medicare Part A or Part B 
decision?

You have 60 days from the date of the MSN to 
request an appeal, called reconsideration. You must 
request this in writing. The form will be provided 
with your MSN or you can print the form from 
www.medicare.gov/basics/forms.

If you don’t appeal within 60 days, the decision 
becomes final and you cannot appeal later. 

With the form, attach a letter to explain the situation. 
Be brief, but include the following key points: (1) 
what you believe Medicare should cover, (2) why 
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it is medically necessary, and (3) why Medicare’s 
decision was incorrect.

It is extremely helpful to have your doctor’s support 
throughout the Medicare appeals process. This might 
be as simple as providing a copy of your medical bill 
and a letter from your doctor. Include these relevant 
documents with your appeal form and letter.

If you disagree with the reconsideration decision, 
you should seek the help of an attorney to discuss 
whether you should appeal further. 

How do I appeal a Medicare Advantage (Part C) 
decision?

If you receive Medicare A or B from a private 
insurance company, there is a different appeals 
process. The provider is required to provide you 
with information regarding their appeals process. 
In addition, every Medicare Advantage plan has 
internal grievance procedures for resolving issues. 

First, you should ask the provider for a determination 
decision, in which the provider will decide whether 
they should have granted the benefit under Medicare. 
The provider must provide that decision in writing. 
Again, your doctor’s support is essential to your 
appeal. 

If you disagree with the decision, you should ask for 
a redetermination, then seek the help of an attorney 
to discuss whether you should appeal further. 
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What should I do if my drug is not covered at the 
pharmacy?

First, check to see if the drug is excluded from 
Medicare Part D’s coverage. (See Part D chart 
above.) 

Next, ask your doctor if another drug on the plan’s 
list would suffice. Provide him or her with the plan’s 
formulary (the list of drugs that the plan covers). 

Talk to your doctor about appealing to the plan so 
it will cover the necessary drug. 

Pharmacists can also provide valuable information 
to patients and providers about why a certain drug 
in a class is better than another. 

If necessary, appeal the provider’s decision. Your 
doctor’s and pharmacist’s support is critical when 
appealing Medicare Part D.

How do I appeal Medicare Part D? 
If you are denied coverage under Part D, you can 
appeal. This is called a “determination” appeal. 
If you disagree with the outcome you can appeal 
again. This section discusses the first three levels of 
appeals.

Determination
You should ask for a written coverage determination 
from your Medicare Part D provider. As part of 
your request, you will need your doctor to submit 
a statement that (1) the drug you need is medically 
necessary and (2) the alternative drugs on the drugs 
formulary would either not help or would harm you. 
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Submit as much information as you can that point 
to this fact. You may also want to include a letter 
from your pharmacist that explains why the drug 
you want is better for your treatment than another 
drug on the formulary. 

After you request the coverage determination, 
your provider must respond within 72 hours. Your 
doctor can ask for an expedited review if your health 
requires. If you are granted an expedited review, 
your provider must make a determination within 
24 hours.

Redetermination 
Your doctor and pharmacist should submit 
statements with as much evidence as possible that 
your drug is medically necessary and that no other 
drugs will help you or that they would be harmful 
to you. This evidence can include medical records 
showing the other drugs you took were ineffective 
or had side effects which were harmful, and 
medical journal articles stating that the drug you 
want is effective in treating your condition. The 
more evidence you have, the better. Contact your 
provider to ask where you should send the request. 
You must ask for a redetermination within 60 days 
of the determination. The provider must respond 
to the redetermination request within 7 days, or 72 
hours on an expedited review.

Reconsideration
If your redetermination is denied, you will receive a 
reconsideration appeal form. You must appeal within 
60 days of receiving the form. Your doctor will 



Navigating Your Rights:  The Utah Legal Guide for Those 55 and Over

82

have another opportunity to add any other medical 
evidence to support your case. Your reconsideration 
is looked at by a qualified independent contractor, 
who will consult doctors to help them make a 
decision. You should consider getting an attorney to 
help you at this stage of appeal. You will receive an 
answer within 7 days, or 72 hours on an expedited 
review.

If you disagree with the decision you should seek the 
help of an attorney to discuss whether you should 
appeal further. 

Other Medical Insurance

Will Medicare cover all my costs?
Medicare was never intended to cover all medical 
costs. As you can see from the charts above, there are 
deductibles, co-payments, and areas that Medicare 
does not cover. After assessing your current and 
future health needs, determine whether or not to 
get additional health insurance. Research your 
options — Medicaid, Medigap, and long-term care 
insurance. 
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Medicaid

What is Medicaid?
Medicaid is a health insurance program for 
individuals and families of low income and assets. 
Medicaid coverage is more extensive than Medicare. 
It includes hospital and medical services, prescription 
drugs, and long-term care such as nursing home 
stays. 

To be eligible for Medicaid, you must fit one of 
the categories and your monthly income must be 
under 55% or 133% of the Federal Poverty Level, 
depending on the category. 	

Can I spend down so Medicaid will pay for my 
nursing home care?

Spending down is when you deplete your finances 
so that you become eligible for Medicaid. Spending 
down is confusing and a complex part of the law. 
The law on asset “transfers” and “gifts” has recently 
changed and is very technical. Making mistakes 
could prevent you from being eligible for Medicaid. 
If you are considering spending down, please talk to 
an attorney who specializes in Medicaid planning.



Navigating Your Rights:  The Utah Legal Guide for Those 55 and Over

84

Medigap

What is Medigap?
Medigap specifically helps pay for the expenses 
that Medicare doesn’t, such as deductibles and 
coinsurance, and in some cases, may add additional 
benefits. (Medigap is good for people who have 
Original Medicare and not Medicare Advantage.) 

There are a variety of Medigap plans. Some plans 
cover the gaps in Medicare for hospital insurance. 
Other plans may cover the gaps by providing 
coverage for skilled nursing care. The plan you 
choose depends on what coverage gap is most critical 
for you to have covered. 

Long-Term Care

Does Medicare pay for long-term care (LTC)?
While Medicare pays for skilled nursing care, this 
coverage is very limited, and in general, Medicare 
does not pay for nursing home stays. Yet over 25 
percent of those people who live to age 65 will 
eventually need some kind of long-term care.

Although your family might be able to provide part 
of the care for you, it is a huge financial strain. For 
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example, the average care in a nursing home in Utah 
is $40,000 a year.

Should I buy long-term care (LTC) insurance?
The answers depends on your health and financial 
situation. 

Generally, if you have more than $1.5 million 
dollars, you may be able to pay for LTC without a 
policy. If you have fewer assets, you may be able to 
spend down to qualify for LTC under Medicaid. 
Contact Senior Health Insurance Information 
Program (SHIP) counselors to help you determine 
whether you need LTC insurance (see the “More 
Information” section).

You should consider a LTC policy if you have no 
one in your family who could take care of your long-
term care needs, you have a family history of disease 
that may require long-term care, and your assets are 
between $250,000 and $1.5 million.

What should I know about buying long-term care 
insurance? 

Age 
Unless you currently have a disability, the best time 
to get LTC insurance is between age 60 and 65. 
Policies get more expensive the older you get.

Premiums
Although premiums usually stay the same, companies 
can raise them under certain circumstances (e.g., 
inflation, losses, or changes in the law).
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Care
When selecting a policy, buy one that covers in-
home care (e.g., adult day care, home health care) 
as well as out-of-home care (e.g., assisted living, 
nursing home).

Benefits
Insist on a simple outline of the policy, which 
describes the benefits offered. Under law, this outline 
must be given to a person when you apply, pay for, 
or receive the policy. 

Financial Strength
Before selecting a policy, find out the financial 
strength of the insurance company by going to 
www.standardandpoors.com.

Coverage
In Utah, the policy must cover custodial care (i.e., 
help with activities of daily living), Alzheimer’s 
disease, and mental or nervous disorder of organic 
origin.

Benefit Period
Less than half of the people who are in a nursing 
home stay longer than 90 days, and if they do, 
almost all of them stay for less than 2.5 years. So 
think about averages like these when looking at the 
policy benefit period.
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Counseling

Where can I get health insurance advice?
You can receive free Medicare counseling through 
your local Senior Health Insurance Information 
Program (SHIP). This program gives free local health 
insurance counseling to people who are eligible, 
or will soon be eligible for Medicare with their 
health insurance questions including the Medicare 
Prescription Drug Program. SHIPs are independent 
and not connected to any insurance company or 
health plan. SHIP volunteers work hard to help you 
with the following Medicare questions or concerns:

Your Medicare •• rights
Complaints about your medical care or ••
treatment
Billing problems••

Plan Choices••

There is no charge for the service, and there is no 
product for sale. You can find a local SHIP counselor 
by calling 877-424-4640. If you’re interested in 
becoming a volunteer SHIP volunteer, contact the 
SHIP in your state to learn more.
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More Information

MEDICARE AND MEDIGAP
Free counseling on Medicare, Medigap, and long-term 
care insurance

Senior Health Insurance Information Program (SHIP)
800-541-7735
www.daas.utah.gov

Utah Insurance Department, Health Insurance Division 
801-538-3077
www.insurance.utah.gov

Information on Medicare
Medicare 
800-MEDICARE (633-4227)
www.medicare.gov

MEDICAID PROGRAM
Information on Utah Medicaid 

Utah Medicaid Program
800-662-9651
www.health.utah.gov/medicaid

LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE
Information about long-term care 

National Center for Assisted Living 
800-628-8140
www.ncal.org

AARP
www.aarp.org
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Chapter
7

Finding Housing Options

In This Chapter, Learn:
What �� Housing Is Available in Utah
How to Choose the Right �� Housing
How to Live Independently in Your Home��

About �� Home Health Care Agencies
About �� Assisted Living and Continuing Care 
Retirement Communities
How to Choose a �� Nursing Home
About Your �� Nursing Home Rights
About Much More ��
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Options And Assessments

What housing options are available in Utah?
There are a variety of housing options available 
in Utah — from staying in your own home with 
assistance, to moving into housing designed for 
seniors, to moving into a nursing home with 24-
hour care. 

Which housing option should I choose?
People need housing options for many reasons. 
Sometimes they look for supportive housing 
assistance such as installing a handrail or hiring 
home care providers to assist with daily tasks like 
getting dressed. Other times people seek out housing 
for social interaction or skilled nursing services. 

In determining the housing option that is right 
for you, assess your social needs, health needs, 
and financial situation. The chart below is a self-
assessment tool to help you get started. You can also 
hire a professional to conduct an assessment.
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          HOUSING NEEDS ASSESSMENT Y or N

SOCIAL NEEDS

Do you want to live in your own home?
Would you like to live near family and friends?
Do you want to be more social or less social?
Do you want to live in your community, near your church, 
doctor, beauty salon, bus stop, or grocery store?

HEALTH NEEDS

Can you clean your house and do your own yard work?
Can you take care of your personal hygiene (comb your 
hair, brush your teeth, bathe, shave, and dress yourself)?
Do you need help shopping?
Can you prepare and eat your own meals?
Can you drive?
Do you need assistance taking your medications?
Can you transfer from and to different places, such as from 
a bed to a chair?
Do you need help either during the day or the night? 
Can you get around your house?
Do you need assistance from a nurse or doctor?

FINANCIAL SITUATION

Can you balance your checkbook and pay your bills?
How much can you afford to pay for housing and services 
that you need?
If you don’t have money available, are you willing to sell 
some of your assets to pay for care?
Do you have long-term care insurance or health insurance 
that covers part or all of the costs of care?
Do you have other resources available to help? 
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What should I do after I assess my needs?
You should decide what type of housing suits your 
needs.

If you decide to stay in your own home, there are 
home modifications available, as well as supportive 
services and programs to make living in your own 
home safer and easier.

For some, staying in their current home is not possible. 
In that case, consider other settings like senior 
apartments, assisted living facilities, continuing care 
retirement communities, and nursing homes, which 
are described below.

Living In Your Home

Can I live independently in my home?
As we age, most of us hope to continue to live 
independently. However, sometimes our home 
becomes unmanageable. We might not be able to 
walk up and down the stairs as we once did. We 
might need help with simple daily activities such as 
dressing, cooking, and bathing, or just want some 
social interaction. Or we might need skilled nursing 
care, but don’t need a nursing home. If this is your 
case, there is good news. Years ago, people might 
have thought it was time for you to move to a nursing 
home, but not any more. Today, supportive services 
help seniors remain in their own homes. This can be 
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as simple as help from family members to services 
provided by a local Area Agency on Aging (AAA), 
senior centers, nonprofit organizations, or for-profit 
businesses.

What services will help me live in my home? 

Family and Friends
Ask your family and friends for help. 

Area Agency on Aging (AAA) Programs
AAA programs are government supported services. 
For example, the Meals on Wheels program brings 
meals to those who are homebound. There are 
other programs that may make it safer and easier 
to continue to live in your home. Contact your 
local AAA for more information on availability 
and eligibility requirements. (See AAA listing in 
Appendix A.)

Senior Centers
Sometimes staying in your own home can make you 
feel lonely or isolated. Senior centers provide social 
and recreational activities, including a wide variety 
of free classes, programs, and meals. 

Adult Day Care Centers
Seniors receive supervision during the day while 
receiving social, health, and recreational services 
they need at adult day care centers. In addition, 
these centers help seniors with their activities of 
daily living and provide meals and companionship.

Adult day care centers allow people to live at home 
with their families rather than at an assisted living 
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facility or a nursing home. Adult day care centers 
are a great option for caregivers who work during 
the day or need a break from caregiving.

Medicaid may pay for adult day care. Some long-
term care insurance plans cover adult day care. 
Medicare will not pay for adult day care.

Homemaking Care
You can hire a homemaker who cooks, cleans, helps 
dress you, or provides transportation.

Home Modifications
Home modifications are another way of helping 
you stay in your own home. Some examples of 
modifications are grab bars in the shower, putting 
a bedroom on the main floor, a chairlift, a walk-
in shower, or access ramps. Ask an occupational 
therapist or physical therapist from a home health 
agency to assist with recommendations for modifying 
your home to meet your needs. 

Home Health Care
If you need help with personal or medical care, you 
can hire someone to provide those services in your 
home. 

Home health care covers a variety of services 
including:

Personal Care: Help with bathing, dressing, ••
exercising, cooking, and hygiene.
Health Care: Nursing, physical therapy, medical ••
monitoring, rehabilitative therapy, and other 
medical assistance.
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Social Care: Transportation services and ••
companions.
Homemaking: Cleaning and shopping.••

Medical services: Skilled nursing care and ••
rehabilitation therapies in your home.

How do I find a quality home health care agency?
When searching for a home health care agency, 
start by using the Home Health Compare search 
tool at www.medicare.gov. Next, ask your friends, 
relatives, and doctors for a referral. Once you have 
a recommendation, it is important that you ask the 
right questions before hiring the agency.

What questions should I ask a home health care 
agency?

How long has the agency been in the business?••

Is it financially sound?••

What is the reputation of the agency in the ••
community? 
What experience and certifications are employees ••
required to have?
Does the agency conduct criminal background ••
checks and drug screening on its employees?
Does the agency provide a home visit evaluation ••
before providing services? 
Does the agency involve family members, doctors, ••
and other specialists in the creation of a care 
plan? 
How often is the care plan reviewed?••
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How does the agency ensure quality of care? ••

Are there extra costs and fees, such as higher costs ••
on weekends? 
Does the agency provide the services you need?••

Is there a doctor on staff?••

What is the response time of the agency for ••
admissions and after-hour calls, and are they 
available for visits 24 hours a day?
Is the agency and its staff Medicare •• certified?
Does the agency have professional liability ••
insurance?

How can I pay for home health care?
Generally, Medicare only pays for short-term home 
health care if a doctor states that it is medically 
necessary, you are homebound or unable to live in 
your home without assistance, and you need one or 
more of the following services: intermittent skilled 
nursing care, physical therapy, speech therapy, or 
occupational therapy.

Some long-term care insurance plans may cover home 
health care. Medicaid may pay for home health care 
if you meet certain eligibility requirements. Some 
veterans may qualify for home health care under 
veteran benefit programs. 
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Independent Living 

What is independent living? 
In the spectrum of senior housing options available, 
independent living is in the middle. It is for those 
who cannot or don’t want to live at home, but who 
don’t need a nursing home. You still have some of 
the freedom and comfort of home, but you also have 
some of the personal care and medical services of a 
nursing home. Even better, with independent living, 
you don’t have the high costs of a nursing home. 

There are two major types of independent living 
communities — senior residences and assisted living 
facilities.

What is a Senior Residence? 
Seniors typically have their own apartment. Seniors 
pay for their own rent and may purchase additional 
services offered if needed. It is a great place for seniors 
who want to socialize and still have amenities close 
by. This type of housing is specifically designed for 
seniors. They have handrails, elevators, ramps, and 
other senior-friendly modifications. The residence 
provides some meals and social and recreational 
activities. Sometimes they have a bank, hair salon, 
bookstore, and other shops in or near the facility. They 
even have laundry, homemaking, and housekeeping 
services available for an additional fee. If you need 
help with activities of daily living such as bathing, 
dressing, cooking, and eating, you may be able to 
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live in a senior residence and hire a home health 
agency to provide personal care services.

If you have a low or moderate income, you may 
qualify for government-subsidized senior housing. 
Most subsidized senior housing communities offer 
meals and activities during the day. Contact your 
local AAA for more information (see listing in 
Appendix A). 

What is an assisted living facility?
Assisted living facilities are for those who cannot 
live by themselves but who don’t need nursing home 
care. They provide the comforts of home with as 
much independence as possible, while providing 
extensive supportive services.

Residents of assisted living facilities live in their own 
apartment and may or may not have a roommate. 
Meals are provided in a common dining room. 
Residents may need very little assistance or may 
need help with administration of medications, 
bathing, dressing, transferring out of bed, laundry, 
and housekeeping.

Assisted living facilities also track a resident’s 
health and medical condition and can help with 
monitoring the resident during the day and night, 
and administering medication and medical aids 
such as oxygen. The facility provides activities and 
may have housekeeping services available at an 
additional cost. 

At these facilities, you pay rent and additional fees 
for services you need. 
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Higher Levels of Care

What is a continuing care retirement community 
(CCRC)?

These are retirement communities that offer all 
levels of care from independent living to assisted 
living to nursing home care. Residents can move 
from a lower level of care to a higher level of care as 
needed or receive services in their own home. This 
allows seniors to age in place. That is, they never 
have to move out of the facility because they need 
a different type of care. This is an expensive type 
of long-term care as residents may have to pay an 
entrance or buy-in fee in addition to the monthly 
fees. This entrance fee can range from $38,000 to 
$400,000. Before moving into a CCRC, be sure to 
have an attorney look at the contract the facility will 
ask you to sign. 

What is a nursing home?
A nursing home is the highest level of care other than 
acute care in a hospital. Sometimes people are there 
for a short time while they recover from an illness 
or injury. At other times people are in a nursing 
home for a long period due to a serious illness. The 
staff provides 24-hour nursing care for those who 
can no longer care for themselves but don’t need 
hospitalization. A doctor supervises the care of the 
patient. The nursing home hires a number of skilled 
professionals such as nurses, physical therapists, 
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speech therapists, and occupational therapists to 
provide care.

They also provide meals, activities, and personal 
care. Medicare will cover the initial costs of skilled 
nursing and rehabilitative care, but will not cover 
long-term care needs or custodial care (see chapter 
6).

How do I choose a nursing home?
Find out what nursing homes are in your area and 
whether they provide quality care. There are several 
places you can go to determine this: Medicare’s 
website, Health Insight, state inspection reports, 
your local Ombudsman, and your own research and 
evaluation.

Medicare’s Website
The government has an online website called 
Nursing Homes Compare at www.medicare.gov. It 
provides statistics that might alert you to nursing 
homes that have serious quality-of-care issues. It 
also provides information on the number and type 
of health deficiencies, fire safety deficiencies, and 
nursing home staff-to-resident ratios.

Health Insight
Health Insight is a nonprofit organization dedicated 
to improving Medicare quality of care. They use the 
state inspection reports to rank the best and worst 
nursing homes. They also give annual awards to 
nursing homes that exhibit high quality of care. 
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State Inspection Reports 
The Utah Department of Health inspects each 
nursing home yearly and writes a state inspection 
report summarizing violations and residents’ 
complaints. Each nursing home is required to make 
its state inspection report available to the public. 
Usually nursing homes have the form posted in 
their lobby or in a folder marked “state survey.” If 
it is not available, ask management for their state 
inspection report. When reviewing these reports, 
look for serious violations. 

Ombudsman 
The Long-Term Care Ombudsman program helps 
protect the rights of residents of long-term care 
facilities, including nursing homes and assisted 
living facilities. The Ombudsman investigates and 
mediates complaints made by those 60 and older 
who live in a facility. They can also help you access 
and interpret state inspection reports, and they 
provide you limited advice on evaluating nursing 
homes. 

Your Own Research and Evaluation
To determine the facility’s quality of care, you 
will have to conduct your own research. Just like 
when you buy a car, you should not rely solely on 
information from the salesman. Research and talk 
to residents, aging professionals, the Ombudsman, 
and others before you select a nursing home.

Look for a facility that promotes independence 
and a home-like atmosphere, allows the resident or 
their family to be involved in decision-making, and 



Navigating Your Rights:  The Utah Legal Guide for Those 55 and Over

102

encourages outside visits. Research indicates that 
facilities that have a higher daily average of care 
from nurses have a higher quality of care than other 
facilities. 

The following list may be useful to determine a 
quality nursing home:
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         VISITING A FACILITY Y/N 
or ✓

LOCATION

Is the facility near your family so they can visit often?

REFERENCES

Ask family, friends, the Ombudsman, and aging 
professionals about their experiences with the facility.

COSTS

Ask about costs, accepted insurance, and penalty costs.
What services cost extra?

QUALITY OF CARE

What are the staff- and nurse-to-patient ratios?
What services are offered?
Can the resident use his or her own doctor?
What are the rooms like?
Can family and friends visit anytime?
Is there a nice private place to visit with residents?
Is there a bed hold fee?
Is there a nurse, doctor, and social worker at the home at all 
times?
Do they require criminal background checks on employees?
What types of complaints have they received from residents?
Do they offer the services you need?

OBSERVATIONS

Visit the facility more than once. Try to visit during 
late morning or midday when residents and the staff are 
interacting.
How does the facility seem when you walk in? Does it feel 
more like a hospital or a home?
Is the facility clean? Are there odors?
Is the facility crowded?
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         VISITING A FACILITY Y/N 
or ✓

OBSERVATIONS (continued)

Ask to see inspection reports for the last couple of years. 
Is the staff friendly and patient?
How much privacy will the resident have?
Are residents clean and properly groomed?
Does the staff know their residents’ names?
Talk to residents and their families. Are they pleased with 
the nursing home?
Do they have a variety of meal choices?
Are there security issues?

What are my nursing home rights?
As a resident of a nursing home, you have certain 
rights under the Federal Nursing Home Reform 
Act. A nursing home is required by law to provide 
you with written information regarding your rights. 
Generally, residents have the following rights:

The Right to Information
Medical records.••

Resident status and medical condition.••

Costs of all services.••

Facility reports and correction plans conducted ••
by the government. 

The Right to Self-Determination
Choose one’s own doctor.••

Be free from physical and mental abuse.••

Be involved in one’s treatment plan.••

Right to make an advance health care directive.••



Finding Housing Options

105

H
ou

si
ng

 O
pt

io
ns

The Right to Be Visited
By family and friends.••

By a physician of one’s choosing.••

By the State •• Ombudsman and other government 
representatives.

The Right to Privacy
Send and receive mail. ••

Have access to a telephone.••

Have private visits with family, friends, the ••
State Ombudsman, and other government 
representatives.
Have medical records kept confidential.••

Every Resident Has the Right to Make 
Complaints

Without fear of reprisal.••

To the •• Ombudsman about the nursing home or 
to report abuse.
To file a lawsuit.••
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More Information

HOUSING OPTIONS
Information about housing options

Senior Housing Net
www.seniorhousing.net

Eldercare Locator
www.eldercare.gov 

Products that help people live independently
Life Solutions Plus
www.lifesolutionsplus.com

SENIOR CENTERS
List of Utah seniors centers 

Utah Division of Aging and Adult Services
www.hsdaas.utah.gov

NURSING HOMES
Information on specific nursing homes 

Medicare 
800-MEDICARE (633-4227)
www.medicare.gov

Health Insight
www.healthinsight.org

Inspects nursing homes
Utah Department of Health
www.health.utah.gov

Investigates complaints at nursing homes
Ombudsman Program
Contact local Area Agency on Aging  
	 (see listing in Appendix A).
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Chapter
8

Organizing Your Assets: 
Estate Planning 

In This Chapter, Learn:
Whether You Should Have a �� Will or Trust
What Happens if You Don’t Have a �� Will
Whether You Need an �� Attorney to Create a Will
About �� Probate 
What are the Benefits of a �� Trust
About the Dangers of �� Joint Accounts
About Much More ��
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Wills

What is a will and what does it do?
A will is a document that states how you would like 
your property distributed after your death. 

In a will, you typically:

Appoint a person, called a personal representative, ••
who carries out the instructions in your will. 
Identify the people or charities that are to inherit ••
your assets.
Make special provisions, such as naming a person ••
you would like to act as guardian for your minor 
children or adult children with a disability.

Do I need a will or a trust?
It depends. Your estate plan should be customized 
to fit your needs and objectives. A will, a trust, or 
both can be designed for many purposes, such as 
property management, assistance in the event of 
incapacity (lack of mental or physical capacity), and 
disposition of property after death. Discuss your 
needs and objectives with an attorney. 

What if I don’t have a will when I die? 
This is called dying “intestate.” If this happens, your 
assets will go to your heirs according to state law.  
Generally under Utah law, if your spouse survives 
you, he or she will inherit everything. However, if 
you have children who aren’t your surviving spouse’s 
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children, then your surviving spouse receives 
$75,000 plus half of the remainder of your estate. 
The rest of your estate is divided equally among all 
your children. If you have no surviving spouse, your 
assets are divided among your heirs (i.e., children); if 
you have no children, the assets go to the surviving 
parents. If you have no surviving parents, your 
property goes to your siblings or their children.

Do I need an attorney to create a will?
You are strongly encouraged to hire an attorney to 
create a will. A skilled attorney will ensure that your 
will clearly states your desires in a way that complies 
with the law. That said, you can handwrite your 
will, as discussed below. 

I recently moved to Utah. Do I need a new will? 
No. It is wise, however, to have an attorney in Utah 
review your will. They can look to see whether Utah 
laws will affect your will and suggest changes, if 
necessary. 

Should I write my own will?
Some people use computer software, a pre-printed 
form, or handwrite their own will. However, this 
is risky. These methods often produce a will that 
is unclear or does not comply with Utah law and 
that can result in a fight between your heirs over 
who gets what. This type of litigation is often very 
expensive and time consuming and can permanently 
tear families apart. We do not recommend that you 
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write your own will. Start the right way and hire an 
attorney to draft your will.  

What if I still want to draft my own will without an 
attorney?

Despite knowing the risks, some people still want 
to draft their will without an attorney. While not 
advisable, Utah law does recognize a holographic 
(handwritten) will. 

For a holographic will to be valid in Utah, (1) the 
entire will must be in your handwriting (not typed 
on a computer), and (2) you must sign and date the 
will. 

If you are determined to draft a holographic will, 
here are some suggestions of what to include. 
These suggestions might not fit your particular 
circumstances, but they will give you a starting 
point for creating a holographic will.

State that you intend this to be your will and you ••
are revoking all prior wills.
State your name and address.••

Name a personal representative.••

Identify your spouse and all your children.••

Describe all your property and assets.••

Clearly state which person gets what assets.••

Number the pages of the will.••

State that you are waiving the requirements of a ••
bond for the personal representative.
Sign and date the will.••
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Who should I choose as a personal representative?
Your personal representative is responsible for 
gathering, managing, and distributing your assets 
under your will. Choose someone you trust to 
follow your wishes and who is willing to act as 
your representative. Beneficiaries (those who receive 
or are to receive something of value) can become 
emotional regarding the property distribution, so 
it’s important to choose a personal representative 
who will follow your instructions regardless of the 
pressure the beneficiaries try to put on them.  

Probate

What is probate?
Probate is a process by which the court determines 
the validity of the will and officially empowers 
the personal representative to act. The personal 
representative: 

Gathers the assets of the decedent. ••

Applies the assets to pay debts, taxes, and expenses ••
of administration. 
Transfers the remaining assets to the beneficiaries ••
named in the will.
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What assets don’t go through probate?
The following is a partial list of property that may 
pass outside your probate estate unless you make the 
estate the beneficiary:

Retirement accounts such as IRAs and 401Ks, life ••
insurance proceeds, and employee death benefits 
go to the beneficiaries you have designated in 
those accounts or policies.

•• Assets held in “joint tenancy.”
•• Assets held in a trust.
Accounts that are “payable on death” go to the ••
designated person. 
Certain small estates (see below).••

Should I try to avoid probate? 
Probate is not as cumbersome and costly as it once 
was. The average time it takes to probate a will is 
between four months and one year, depending on 
the size of the estate, the complexity of transferring 
the assets, and whether the will is contested. The 
average cost of probating a simple, uncontested estate 
when an attorney is involved is between $1,500 to 
$2,500. Be careful of those over-exaggerating the 
costs of probate. 

What if I don’t have a lot of assets, do I have to go 
through probate?

A small estate affidavit may be an option. In Utah, 
if an estate is worth $100,000 or less and does not 
include real estate, probate may not be necessary. 
In this case, the successor of the estate can use an 
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affidavit (a written statement made under oath) to 
collect the deceased person’s property. The affidavit 
must state that (1) the value of the estate subject to 
probate does not exceed $100,000; (2) thirty days 
have elapsed since the deceased’s passing; (3) no 
application of a personal representative is pending 
or has been granted in any jurisdiction; and (4) the 
claiming successor is entitled to payment or delivery 
of the property.  

Trust 

What is a trust?
A trust is a document in which you appoint someone 
to manage assets for you and any designated 
beneficiaries. 

In a trust you appoint a trustee to manage the assets.  
You can appoint yourself or another person. If you 
name yourself, you should also name a successor 
trustee to take over upon your death or if you don’t 
have mental capacity. 

What are the benefits of having a trust?	
There are benefits to creating a trust (so long as all 
your assets are in the trust). 

Assets held in a trust:

Don’t go through probate.••
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Avoid the need to appoint a conservator.••

Allow you to state the circumstances under which ••
your beneficiaries will receive the trust assets. 

Shouldn’t everyone have a trust?
While trusts are a valuable estate planning tool, they 
are not for everyone. For instance, it is not always 
a good option for those with a small estate. Despite 
this, there are salespeople who use scare tactics to get 
seniors to create trusts. They may state that a trust 
will save you thousands of dollars, guarantee that 
the government won’t take your property, ensure 
that your heirs receive your estate, and avoid costly 
probate. These statements are not true for everyone. 
Some salespeople are not qualified to create a trust 
but may draft your trust anyway, or they may neglect 
to transfer your property into the trust.

Even if your estate is modest, there are many estate 
planning options that will ensure that your assets 
are distributed as you wish. Before determining 
which estate plan is best for you, examine all 
estate planning options with an experienced estate 
planning attorney.
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Updating Estate Planning 

When should I update my estate planning? 
You should update your estate planning when you 
experience a life change. This could include a new 
marriage, birth, adoption, or divorce. To help you 
think about the potential impact on your finances 
and the changes you need to make, answer the 
following questions:

Do you want to change the beneficiaries to your ••
will or trust, such as including a new spouse or 
child?
Do you want to revise the assets and properties ••
that you are leaving to your beneficiaries?
If you are getting married, do you want to protect ••
your assets for your children’s inheritance and at 
the same time provide for your new spouse after 
your death?
Do you want to change the name of your executor, ••
agent, or personal representative?
If your assets have increased or decreased since ••
the last review, do you want to change how those 
assets are distributed? 



Navigating Your Rights:  The Utah Legal Guide for Those 55 and Over

116

Taxes 

Should I worry about estate taxes?
If your estate will be worth $1 million dollars or 
more when you die, you should talk to an estate 
planning or tax attorney about your estate tax 
liability (debt or legal responsibility). Tax planning is 
very complicated, and tax laws change frequently. 

When do I have to pay a gift tax?
Generally, any time you make gifts worth more than 
$12,000 to one person (other than your spouse) in 
any given year, you must file a gift tax return. You 
can give as many gifts as you would like as long as the 
total amount of the gifts don’t exceed $12,000 per 
person per year. There are a few other exemptions, 
such as payments for medical care or education. If 
you plan to make gifts of more than $12,000 to any 
one person in a year, talk to an estate planning or 
tax attorney first. 
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Property

Should I deed my house to my kids now to avoid 
probate costs later?

We strongly advise against deeding your house for 
several reasons.  You will no longer own it, your heirs 
may have to pay more in taxes if you deed it over, 
and it may make you ineligible later for Medicaid.

If you transfer your house to your children, they will 
own the house. This transfer can have unforeseen 
consequences. For example, if your child defaults on 
a loan, the creditor could force the sale of the home 
since your child holds the deed to the house. Also, 
your child, as owner of the house, could decide to 
evict you. Second, there may be gift tax issues. If 
you deed the house over to your children, they will 
have to pay capital gains on the home’s original 
value. So if you bought your home for $100,000 
and it is now worth $300,000, and you deed it to 
your children, they would have to pay capital gains 
taxes on $200,000 (the difference between the 
original value and the current value). However, if 
you gave them the house through your will and 
they then sold it for its current value of $300,000, 
they would not have to pay capital gains tax. Third, 
transferring your house for less than its value may 
make you ineligibile for Medicaid. There are better 
ways to transfer your house to your child. Talk to an 
attorney for more details.
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What is a life estate?
A life estate is ownership of property that terminates 
on your death. Here is an example of how a life estate 
works. Paul owns a cabin in the Uinta mountains. 
He marries Jenessa. Later, he dies. In his will he 
gives Jenessa a life estate to the cabin and the future 
interest of the cabin to their children, Hugo and 
Nola. This means that Jenessa can live in the cabin 
until she dies. Upon Jenessa’s death, Hugo and Nola 
inherit the cabin. 

If Jenessa decides that she wants to sell the cabin, 
she cannot sell the property completely because she 
only owns the cabin until she dies. After that, Hugo 
and Nola own it. If Jenessa sells her life estate to 
Lyman, Lyman can use the cabin while Jenessa is 
living. Once Jenessa dies, the property goes to Hugo 
and Nola. 

If you hold a life estate, you cannot damage or devalue 
the property. However, you can make improvements 
as long it does not devalue the property. 

What about owning property together?
When buying property with another person, be sure 
to identify whether you are holding the property as 
joint tenants or as tenants in common. 

In joint tenancy, when one joint tenant dies, 
the property passes to the surviving joint tenant 
automatically. For example, if Paul and Jenessa own 
a house in joint tenancy, and Paul dies, Jenessa now 
owns the entire house. Married couples typically 
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choose to own property in joint tenancy because it 
is easier to pass property to the surviving spouse. 

In tenancy in common, each owner has a share of the 
property that he or she may sell without the other’s 
consent. The share of each tenant in common passes 
as provided in a will and is subject to probate. 

My son is helping me pay my bills. Should I put his 
name on my checking account?

Probably not. When you add someone to your 
checking account, you are creating a joint account. 
There are some advantages to setting up a joint 
account, as it permits a second person to help out with 
paying bills and managing your money. However, 
as a result, two people can withdraw money even 
if only one of them is depositing money into the 
account. This may lead to unexpected and unwanted 
results. For instance, let’s say that you have a joint 
account with your son. If your son defaults on his 
car loan, the creditor can seize the money in the 
joint account. While you can sue your son for the 
money taken from the joint account, this situation 
can be difficult to resolve.

What is the best way to leave my bank account to 
someone upon my death?

The best way to leave your checking account to 
someone after your death is by creating a “payable 
upon death” account. This form, available from your 
bank, allows you to name a person who is to inherit 
the money upon your death. 
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More Information

ESTATE PLANNING
Information on estate planning 

Utah State Bar
www.utahbar.org

American Bar Association
www.abanet.org



121

En
d-

of
-L

ife
 P

la
nn

in
g

Chapter
9

Keeping The Power:  
End-Of-Life Planning 

In This Chapter, Learn:
About �� Advance Health Care Directives
About a �� Health Care Power of Attorney
About a �� Living Will
About the Importance of Choosing the Right ��
Agent
How to Create a �� Health Care Power of Attorney
How to Create a �� Living Will
About �� Guardianships
About �� Conservatorships
About Much More ��
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Advance Health  
Care Directives 

What is an Advance Health Care Directive? 
An Advance Health Care Directive, also called 
an “Advance Directive,” is a legal document that 
describes your end-of-life health care wishes. In 
Utah, the Advance Directive is a form with four 
parts:

Part I. Health Care Power of Attorney 
This part allows you to appoint another person called 
a health care agent to make health care decisions 
if you are unable to make decisions or speak for 
yourself.

Part II. Living Will
This part allows you to express directly to health care 
providers your preferences regarding life-prolonging 
medical procedures.

Part III. Revocation
This part allows you to revoke or change an Advance 
Directive.

Part IV. Execution
This part makes the document legal. This part 
requires your signature and that of a witness. 

You don’t have to complete all parts of an Advance 
Directive. For example, you can fill out Part I but 
not Part II of the form.
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Do I need an Advance Directive?
You can benefit from having an Advance Directive 
at any age. You could have an accident or get sick. 
In the future you could have a mental or physical 
illness that leaves you without the ability to make 
decisions. 

Making an Advance Directive allows you to direct 
how decisions should be made if you can no longer 
communicate your wishes. This keeps the focus of 
decision-making on you and your wishes.

What is a health care agent?
A health care agent is a person you appoint to make 
medical decisions for you in the event you are unable 
to make them for yourself.

How should I choose an agent?
Choosing your agent is one of the most important 
things you do when creating a Health Care Power of 
Attorney. It is important to choose an agent whom 
you trust because your agent will carry out your 
wishes when you are unable to make or communicate 
decisions. You should also choose an alternate agent 
in case your agent is unable or unwilling to serve.

What should I tell my agent?
You should have a discussion with your agent about 
any current, serious medical conditions, specific 
health care preferences, and general thoughts you 
have about end-of-life care. To help you get started 
with this discussion, download a copy of Utah’s 
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Toolkit for Advance Health Care Planning (see the 
“More Information” section on page 134). If you fill 
out a Toolkit or worksheets, you should give your 
agent a copy, along with your Advance Directive.

What powers can I give my agent?
Your agent has broad powers to make medical 
decisions for you, including: 

Consenting to, refusing, or withdrawing any ••
health care treatment.
Hiring and firing health care providers.••

Asking questions and getting answers from health ••
care providers.
Consenting to admission or transfer to a medical ••
provider or facility.
Getting copies of medical records.••

Asking for consultations or second opinions.••

You can give your agent additional powers, if you 
choose, including: 

Getting copies of your medical records even if you ••
can communicate your health care decisions.
Authorizing organ donation.••

Admitting you into a facility such as a nursing ••
home.
Other powers not contained in Utah’s form on ••
the blank lines provided in Parts I and II.

When do an agent’s powers begin? 
Your agent’s powers begin when you cannot make 
or communicate health care decisions for yourself. 
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The law requires a finding by a physician or in some 
cases a physician assistant or a nurse practitioner that 
you lack capacity to make a health care decision. 

How do I express end-of-life care wishes?
Part II of Utah’s Advance Directive lets you 
document your end-of-life care preferences. You can 
choose whether you want medical procedures that 
prolong life or not. If you don’t want to prolong life, 
you can choose at what point you want to withdraw 
life-sustaining treatment.

Do I need an attorney to create an Advance 
Directive?

No, you don’t need to hire an attorney to create 
an Advance Directive. The form discussed in this 
section was designed for use by the public. 

You can download the Advance Directive Form 
from Utah’s Division of Aging and Adult Services 
(see the “More Information” section, page 134). 

Should I complete a new Advance Directive if I 
already have one?

If you created an Advance Directive before 2008 that 
was legally valid, it is legally valid today. However, 
a new law was passed in 2008 that covers more 
circumstances than the older form. Everyone who 
can should complete the new form.
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What should I do after I sign my Advance Directive? 
Keep the original Advance Directive and worksheets 
or other notes where your agent can get the original 
document, if needed. 

Give your agent a copy of the Advance Directive 
plus any worksheets or notes. Make sure your agent 
knows where to find the original. Also, give copies 
to other family members or friends who may have 
to make a medical decision for you if your agent is 
not available. 

Give your doctor a copy of your Advance Directive. 
Ask for it to be included in your medical record. 
Make sure your doctor will support your wishes. 

When should I update my Advance Directive?
Review your Advance Directive once a year or when 
an event changes your life. Think about the ‘5 Ds’ 
to decide when you should change or update your 
Advance Directive. The 5 Ds are: decade birthday 
(40th, 50th, etc.), diagnosis of a new illness or 
condition, deterioration of health, divorce, and 
death of somebody close to you.

What if the doctor won’t follow the Advance 
Directive?

While you can sue in court to enforce the directive, 
the easiest way to resolve the situation is to work with 
the hospital (customer service or risk management) 
or to get a different doctor. 
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Do EMTs have to follow my Advance Directive?
No. EMTs are not trained to follow Advance 
Directives. If EMTs are called, their primary task is 
to keep you alive until you get to the hospital. If you 
don’t want emergency providers to perform CPR, 
you must work with your health care provider to 
complete an order on a form approved by the Utah 
Department of Health. 

Guardianship

What is a guardianship?
A guardianship is a court-ordered arrangement 
through which one or more persons, called guardians, 
are legally authorized to make decisions for another 
person, called a ward.

When is a guardianship necessary?
Sometimes people become incapable of making 
minimally adequate decisions about medical 
treatment, everyday life, or other important matters 
and there are no voluntary arrangements through 
which the person can be assisted in making adequate 
decisions. As a result, their health and safety are in 
jeopardy. Under Utah law, when this happens, a 
court may appoint a guardian to make decisions for 
that person.
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What are the responsibilities of a guardian? 
Under a limited guardianship, a guardian may only 
make those decisions that the court has authorized 
the guardian to make. 

Under a full guardianship, the guardian is generally 
responsible for:

Determining where the ward lives. ••

Making sure that the ward’s basic needs are met.••

Protecting and advocating for the ward’s rights.••

Making decisions about the ward’s health care ••
and treatment. 
Keeping track and taking care of the ward’s ••
property and possessions.
Making some financial decisions for the ward, if ••
the ward does not have a conservator.
Reporting to the court annually about their ••
guardianship activities, the condition of the ward, 
and the status and condition of the ward’s estate. 

Who can become a guardian?
Any competent adult and some agencies can be 
appointed as a guardian. The law gives preference, 
however, to appointment of the following persons in 
the following order:

Persons suggested by a ward, in the event the ward ••
is capable of expressing a preference. 
Close family members of the ward.••
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How is a guardianship established?
Any person who believes that another person needs 
a guardian may file a petition for appointment 
of a guardian in state court. Usually an attorney 
represents the person filing the petition and another 
attorney represents the proposed ward. A doctor 
or psychologist may examine the proposed ward 
to determine if the person has capacity to make 
decisions and care for themselves. 

After receiving a petition, the court schedules a 
hearing. Various interested parties, including the 
proposed ward, must be notified of the hearing. 
If the proposed ward does not have an attorney or 
cannot afford one, the court will appoint one to 
represent the proposed ward. At the initial hearing 
the judge may schedule a trial, or if the judge finds 
no opposition to the petition, the judge may grant 
the petition. At the conclusion of the hearing or 
trial, the judge or jury decides whether or not to 
grant the petition.

What is a conservatorship?
A conservatorship is like a guardianship, but only 
for finances. The conservator has authority to make 
financial decisions on your behalf.

Under a full conservatorship, the conservator is 
generally responsible for:

Using the protected person’s income and financial ••
resources to provide for the person’s care, support, 
and comfort and to pay the person’s bills and 
debts. 
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Keeping track and taking care of the protected ••
person’s property and personal possessions. 
Investing or selling the protected person’s assets ••
and property, if needed.

What are some of the alternatives to guardianship 
and conservatorship?

Because guardianship limits a person’s ability to 
make decisions for himself or herself, it should always 
be used as a last resort. Some decision-making tools 
and voluntary arrangements that may be used as 
alternatives to guardianship include:

Money Management Services 
Banking services, such as direct deposit and direct 
payment, may help you if you are having difficulties 
keeping track of your money and paying your bills. 

Representative Payee 
If you are unable to manage your financial affairs, the 
Social Security Administration (SSA) can appoint 
a relative, friend or institution as the representative 
payee. 

Advance Health Care Directive
An Advance Directive is a legal document that 
you can create to inform others how you want to 
be cared for in the event you become incapable of 
making medical decisions.

Trusts 
A trust is a legal arrangement in which a person or 
institution called a trustee holds title to property 
for your benefit or the benefit of another person. 
Trusts can be a very helpful option when planning 
for incapacity. 
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Power Of Attorney

What is a power of attorney?
A power of attorney is a legal document in which you 
give a person, called an agent, the authority to act 
on your behalf. For instance, you can give someone 
the authority to sell your home, pay your bills, or 
buy groceries for you. The person who grants the 
power is called a “principal” and the person who is 
given the authority is the “agent.” 

What authority does the agent have under a power 
of attorney?

You decide what authority to give your agent. You 
can give the agent limited authority to pay your 
bills, for example, or you can give general power to 
make any day-to-day decisions, as well as business 
and legal decisions. You should give your agent only 
the authority you want them to have.

When can my agent act?
This depends on the type of power of attorney you 
set up. There is a springing power, nondurable power, 
and durable power of attorney. 

Springing Power of Attorney
The agent receives authority at a specific time or when 
a specific event occurs (such as when the principal 
becomes incapacitated or lacks mental capacity).
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Nondurable Power of Attorney
The agent receives authority as soon as the principal 
creates the power of attorney, and it is revoked if the 
principal becomes incapacitated, dies, or revokes the 
power of attorney.

Durable Power of Attorney
The agent is authorized to act even after the principal 
becomes incapacitated. 

What is the most important thing to know about a 
power of attorney?

You should select your agent with care. Your agent 
should be someone you completely trust. Talk to 
any prospective agent before you appoint them to 
make sure he or she is willing to be your agent. It is 
wise, especially with a Financial Power of Attorney, 
to appoint a monitor that watches over the agent. 
The monitor ensures the agent is acting in your best 
interest.

How do I create a power of attorney?
Creating a power of attorney is not a “one size fits 
all” situation. You should hire an attorney to create 
a power of attorney that fits your specific needs. 
However, you don’t need to hire an attorney to 
create a Health Care Power of Attorney.

What is a Financial Power of Attorney? 
A Financial Power of Attorney gives your agent 
specific authority to make finance-related decisions.
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What is the most important thing to know about a 
financial power of attorney?

You should select your agent with care. Power of 
attorneys can be misused as they have little built in 
safeguards to protect you. So it is critical not only to 
pick an agent that you completely trust but also to 
appoint a monitor that watches over your agent and 
your accounts. The monitor should have no power to 
move assets or make decisions. The monitor’s job is 
only to watch over your account to ensure your agent 
is acting in your best interest and is not misusing or 
stealing from your account. Your agent and monitor 
should be people that you completely trust. Talk to 
any prospective agent before you appoint them to 
make sure he or she is willing to be your agent.

What if I don’t have a durable financial power of 
attorney?

There may come a time in life where you are unable to 
handle your finances. This could be due to incapacity 
of some sort (e.g. dementia). If you don’t have a durable 
financial power of attorney, your relatives or loved 
ones will have to go to court to appoint a conservator 
or guardian to manage your finances. This type of 
proceeding can be costly as it requires that both 
parties have an attorney. Sometimes the court hearing 
is contested and causes family strife. This doesn’t mean 
that you should run out and get a durable financial 
power of attorney. Since an agent under a financial 
power of attorney has the potential to exploit, you first 
want to make sure you can appoint an agent you trust 
as well as a monitor to audit the agent (see chapter 3).
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More Information

ADVANCE HEALTH CARE DIRECTIVES
Advance Health Care Directive form, toolkit, and 
instructions

Utah Division of Aging and Adult Services
877-424-4640
801-538-3910
www.hsdaas.utah.gov

GUARDIANSHIP AND POWER OF ATTORNEY
Information online regarding guardianship, 
conservatorship, advance directives, and power of 
attorney

Utah State Courts’ Self-Help Resource Center
www.utcourts.gov/howto

Information about guardianships 
Office of Public Guardian
www.opg.utah.gov
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Chapter
10

Making Arrangements: 
Death of a Loved One

In This Chapter, Learn:
What to Do Immediately After Someone Dies��

What Tasks Can Wait��

What Documents to Gather��

How to Obtain a �� Death Certificate
About Much More ��
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Priority of Tasks

What tasks need to be handled?
Some of these tasks require more immediate attention 
than others. 

This might be overwhelming. You don’t need to 
do everything yourself. Look for a friend, close 
family member, or the personal representative who 
is named in the decedent’s will to assist you with 
some of these tasks. It may be best to postpone any 
decisions that can wait until you are feeling better 
emotionally. 

For example, the decision to sell the home should 
be made carefully only when you are emotionally 
ready. 

First Day

What should I do first?
The decisions made during the first week are typically 
decisions made by the close family members. 

Please read the will as it may or may not assign 
specific people to be involved in these tasks. 
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Immediately Notify the Appropriate Person 
about the Death 
If your loved one dies at home and the death was 
expected, then simply notify the physician and the 
chosen funeral home. If the death was unexpected 
— for example, a death by violence, suicide, drug 
overdose, poisoning, or suspicious accident — then 
you are required by law to call the police. If your 
loved one dies in a hospital or nursing home, notify 
a nurse or other staff member. 

Make a Decision Regarding the Decedent’s 
Organs
Check to see whether the person wished to donate 
their organs. There are three ways in which people 
can state they are organ donors: 

They can register on the organ donation list (one ••
can register when applying for a Utah driver’s 
license or ID card).
They can state it in their will. ••

If they have a terminal illness or injury, they can ••
tell two people they want to donate their organs 
(one person has to be a disinterested party). 

If the decedent (a person who has died) did not 
express specific wishes regarding organ donation, 
certain family members may need to make this 
decision. In Utah, there is a priority list of people 
who can give consent: the agent of the donor who 
could have made the decision before the decedent’s 
death, the surviving spouse, adult children, parents, 
adult siblings, adult grandchildren, grandparents, 
and guardians, in that respective order. 
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Contact Family Members and Close Friends
Start informing family members, friends, and ••
other relevant persons regarding the passing.

Make Arrangements for Children and Pets
Check the will to see whether there are any ••
instructions regarding who should care for 
children and pets.

First Week 

What should I do in the first week?

Plan the Funeral
You should contact the funeral home during the first 
24 hours. The funeral home will be able to help you 
make arrangements for transporting the body to 
the funeral home.  Ask the funeral home for a price 
list. According to the Federal Trade Commission, 
any time prices are discussed you must be presented 
with a complete price list of goods and services the 
funeral home offers.

Find out the decedent’s burial and funeral wishes. 
Again, look to the will or other documents to 
determine these wishes. Also, consult family 
members regarding the wishes of the decedent. If 
the deceased was on public assistance, funds for 
an indigent (someone of lower income) burial or 
cremation may be available (varies depending on 
the county). 
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Use Veteran Benefits for Funerals 
Generally, if the deceased was a veteran, the 
Department of Veteran Affairs will provide at no 
cost a U.S. flag, a grave site in a National Veterans’ 
Cemetery, a headstone, and military funeral honors. 
In addition, some veterans may be eligible for burial 
allowance that gives partial reimbursement for 
burial and funeral costs. Contact the Department 
of Veteran Affairs for more information. 

First Month

What should I do within the first month? 
During the first month, the personal representative 
can handle a lot of the following tasks. Family 
members may provide direction or handle these 
matters until a personal representative is designated 
or appointed by the court. Tasks include gathering 
important documents, obtaining death certificates, 
making a list of the decedent’s assets, preserving 
property, and notifying others.

What documents should I gather? 
Before dealing with benefit, legal, and financial 
issues, you will need to gather a variety of important 
documents: 

Wills••

•• Trust agreements
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Deeds••

Mortgages and title policies••

Stock and bond certificates ••

Account statements••

Bank statements and checkbooks••

Certificates of deposit••

•• Insurance policies
Divorce papers••

Motor vehicle titles and registrations••

Lease agreements••

Marriage, birth, and death certificates••

Annuities••

•• Social Security numbers
Recent income tax returns and recent W-2 forms••

Military records ••

Retirement and brokerage accounts (IRA, 401K, ••
403(b), pension)
Partnership and corporate papers••

How do I obtain a death certificate? 
A certified copy of the death certificate will be 
needed each time you are asked to provide “proof of 
death.” You may be asked for proof of death when 
transferring the title of property, filing insurance 
claims, accessing certain property, and applying for 
various types of benefits. 

The quickest way to obtain a copy of the death 
certificate is from the funeral director. You should 
obtain at least 5 to 10 certified copies of the death 
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certificate. The certificate can also be obtained 
directly from the Utah Department of Health’s 
Office of Vital Records. 

Who should make a list of the decedent’s assets?
If you are the personal representative or acting until 
one is appointed, try to locate and prepare a list of 
what the deceased owned. 

How should I preserve the property?
Make sure that the decedent’s assets are safe and 
secure. For example, make sure the decedent’s 
property taxes are paid and that the house is locked 
and properly insured. Unfortunately, some thieves 
target homes of people who have recently died, 
so make sure that the house is secure. If there is a 
vehicle, make sure it is in a safe place. 

After contacting family who else should I notify?
The following is a list of individuals whom you 
should contact at an appropriate time. 

Employer
Contact the deceased’s employer to make 
arrangements for any last pay check. Survivors may 
be able to receive benefits from a pension plan, life 
insurance, and 401K. 

Post Office 
Mail for the deceased should be marked “deceased 
— return to sender” or forwarded to the person 
taking care of the deceased’s mail. 
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Life Insurance Agent
To make a claim for death benefits, talk to the 
insurance agent where the deceased’s policy was 
held. 

Business and Financial Institutions
When your loved one dies, you should cancel 
services and subscriptions. You should also notify 
any financial institutions (e.g., banks, brokerage 
services, credit card companies) where the decedent 
conducted business. If the decedent had a joint 
account, have the decedent’s name taken off the 
account. 

Social Security Administration 
If the decedent was receiving Social Security benefits, 
you must report the death to the Social Security 
Administration by calling 800-772-1213. You also 
must return any check or payment received for the 
month of death. 

If the decedent was eligible for Social Security 
benefits, a family member may be eligible for 
death and survivor benefits (see chapter 5 for more 
information about Social Security).

Tax Advisor
You might have to prepare and file the decedent’s 
tax return. Contact the deceased’s accountant or 
your own tax advisor. 

Attorney
If applicable, contact an attorney to help with the 
legal steps necessary to handle the estate.
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Health Insurance Company
Notify the health insurance company of the death 
and provide them with a death certificate. Arrange 
to have the deceased persons name removed from 
the health insurance policy while keeping others 
covered on the policy.

Veteran Administration
If the deceased was a veteran notify the veterans 
agency so they can stop any payments that they may 
have been making. The Veterans Administration 
may also offer benefits for funeral or burial costs.
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More Information

ORGAN DONATIONS
Registry for organ and tissue donation  

Utah Donor Registry
866-937-8824
www.yesutah.org

DEATH CERTIFICATES
Order official Utah death certificates

Utah Department of Health, Office of Vital Records
801-538-6105
www.silver.health.utah.gov

FUNERAL TRADE RULES
Information on the funeral trade rules

Federal Trade Commission 
877-FTC-HELP (382-4357) 
www.ftc.gov/funerals
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Chapter
11

Getting Legal Help:  
Where To Go From Here

In This Chapter, Learn:
Where to Go for More �� Legal Help
About Solving the Issue Yourself��

How to Get Brief �� Legal Help
How to Hire an �� Attorney
About Much More ��
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Solving the Problem 
Yourself

Where do I go for more information? 
Now that you are armed with an improved knowledge 
of the law, you are better able to navigate the issues 
that face people 55 and over. Search out resources in 
the “More Information” sections of each chapter, go 
to the library and bookstores, go to a recommended 
website, or take a class. 

How do I resolve a dispute?
If your issue involves a dispute with another person 
or organization, try to resolve the dispute. If you 
are unable to resolve the issue, see whether the 
organization or person is willing to go to mediation. 
Mediation is a great way to resolve disputes without 
having to go to court. Some mediation services are 
affiliated with the courts, while there are also private 
and nonprofit mediation services. A mediator acts 
as a neutral person who listens to both parties and 
tries to move them to an acceptable resolution. You 
can find a list of mediators, and more information 
about mediation services, at the Utah State Courts’ 
Self-Help Resource Center website (see the “More 
Information” section, page 151). 
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Can I sue in small claims court? 
You can file a consumer claim (such as a breach of 
a contract, property damage, consumer complaint, 
or payment owed) against a person or a business if 
your claim is not above $10,000. The rules in small 
claims court are simple, and you can file and present 
your case without an attorney. For a guide on filing 
a small claims case, go to the Utah State Courts’ 
Self-Help Resources website.

Can I represent myself?
There may be a time when you are unable to hire 
an attorney and will need to represent yourself, 
or maybe you just need more information about 
how the court works. The Utah State Courts have 
an excellent Self Help Resource Center online. It 
has pro se (representing yourself) packets, how-to 
guides, and legal forms. It also provides a wealth of 
information on different areas of law (see the “More 
Information” section, page 151). 

Getting Brief Legal Help 

Where can I get a legal question answered? 
Salt Lake and Washington County have free legal 
clinics staffed by volunteer attorneys for seniors of 
all income levels. These clinics specifically address 
elder law issues. Each appointment lasts about 20 
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minutes. You tell the attorney your problem, and 
he gives you his legal assessment. Your conversation 
with the attorney is confidential, but the attorney is 
not representing you. In addition, there are free legal 
clinics all over the state where people of low income 
can go for brief legal advice. For a list of clinics, 
go to the Utah State Courts’ Self-Help Resources 
website (see page 151).

What are government legal services? 
In Utah, the government funds limited legal 
assistance to those 60 years and older. Those who are 
in the greatest social and economic need are given 
priority in receiving services. Typically cases involve 
guardianship, Advance Health Care Directives, 
consumer fraud, housing issues, and long-term care 
rights, among others.

These legal services also include community legal 
education and legal advice. In some very rare 
cases, representation might be available. For more 
information on this resource, call your local Area 
Agency on Aging (AAA) (see listing in Appendix A, 
page 157). The AAA is the government organization 
that provides aging services in your local community. 
They can direct you to the legal service provider 
they contract with in your area. Most often they 
will refer you to the Senior Legal Helpline at Utah 
Legal Services.
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Hiring an Attorney

How do I hire an attorney?
Although hiring an attorney may be costly, 
sometimes it is necessary. If cost is an issue, try to 
find an attorney who offers unbundled legal services. 
This allows you to hire an attorney for limited 
representation. You choose exactly what legal tasks 
you want the attorney to perform. For example, you 
could hire an attorney to just draft a document, 
review a document, or represent you through a legal 
issue.

One way to find an attorney is by asking friends, 
family, and professionals in the field for a 
recommendation. It is very important to hire 
an attorney who specializes in the area of law 
surrounding your legal question. For example, you 
should hire an attorney in estate planning or elder 
law if you have a question about a trust. Conversely, 
you should not hire a tax attorney for a family law 
issue.

Before hiring an attorney, make sure you ask the 
following questions:

How long have you been practicing law?••

What is your area of expertise?••

How much do you charge?••

Is there a charge for the initial consultation?••
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Have you ever had a bar complaint? (You can ••
confirm this with the Utah State Bar.)
How long does it take you to return a client’s ••
phone call?
How long will my case take?••

What outcome can I expect?••
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More Information

MEDIATION
Provides mediation in small claims courts and for those 
with low and moderate income

Utah Dispute Resolution
877-697-7175
801-532-4841 (SLC)
801-689-1720 (Ogden)
www.utahdisputeresolution.org

SMALL CLAIMS AND PRO SE
Information on filing a small claims suit

Utah State Courts’ Self-Help Resource Center
www.utcourts.gov

Online assistance for filing pro se documents
Utah State Courts’ Online Court Assistance Program 
www.utcourts.gov

CLINICS
Free legal clinics on elder law

St. George Legal Clinic
St. George Senior Center
245 North 200 West
435-634-5716 (by appt. only)

Salt Lake Senior Legal Clinics
Held at Various Senior Centers
Utah State Bar (call for specific locations and times) 
801-297-7049

Provides a list of free legal clinics throughout Utah
Utah State Courts’ Self-Help Resource Center
www.utcourts.gov
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GOVERNMENT LEGAL SERVICES
Provides free brief legal advice to vulnerable seniors

Senior Legal Helpline (funded through 2012)
9 am – 2 pm
800-662-1772

Provides legal advice, information and representation to 
low income Utahns

Utah Legal Services
801-328-8891
800-662-4245
www.andjusticeforall.org/uls

HIRING AN ATTORNEY
Provides a lawyer referral service

LegalMatch
www.utahbar.legalmatch.com

To check for complaints against an attorney
Utah State Bar
801-531-9077
www.utahstatebar.org
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Glossary

Adult Protective Services:  Utah government organization that 
assists vulnerable and elder adults in need of protection to 
prevent or discontinue abuse, neglect, or exploitation until that 
condition no longer requires intervention.

Advance Directive:  a form that allows you to (1) choose an 
agent to make health care decisions for you when you cannot 
make decisions for yourself, and (2) allows you to state your end-
of-life health care wishes.

Affidavit:  a written statement made under oath.

Agent:  someone you choose who has the authority to act on 
your behalf. 

Appeal:  taking the case to a higher court or level to request a 
change in the decision.

Assets:  things that one owns that have value.

Beneficiary:  one who receives or is to receive something of 
value. 

Conservator:  someone the court appoints who has the authority 
to act on your behalf to make financial decisions for you. 

Contract:  a legal agreement between two or more parties. 

Decedent:  a person who has died.

Deed:  a legal document that gives someone title to real 
property.

Default:  a legal failure to do something.

Estate:  property that a person owns or possesses. 

Exempt:  released from a liability.
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Felony:  a serious crime.

Financial exploitation:  using a person’s assets, money, or property 
to deprive that person of using, benefiting, or possessing that 
property. 

Financial power of attorney:  a power of attorney that gives an 
agent authority to make financial decisions for another.

Guardian:  one who has legal custody to make decisions for 
another person.

Hearing:  a preliminary legal proceeding where you present your 
side of the case.

Holographic will:  a handwritten will.

Incapacitated:  lack of mental or physical capacity.

Indigent:  someone who is poor or of lower income. 

Joint bank account:  a bank account that has two or more people 
who have the same rights to the account. 

Joint tenancy:  when two or more people own property together. 
If one dies, the other automatically inherits the property. 

Liability:  a debt, legal responsibility, duty, or obligation.

Mediation:  resolving a conflict between two or more parties by 
meeting with an impartial person called a mediator.

Misdemeanor:  a lesser crime.

Pending:  awaiting a decision.

Pension:  a retirement benefit plan set up by a company or 
employer.

Personal representative:  the person who carries out the 
instructions in your will.

Petition:  a written request to the court. 
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Physical abuse:  harm to a person that causes injury or will likely 
cause injury.

Power of attorney:  a legal document where you give a person 
called an “agent” the authority to act on your behalf. 

Probate:  the process the court goes through to validate a person’s 
will, appoint a personal representative, gather a person’s assets, 
pay any debts and taxes, and oversee the transfer of assets to the 
beneficiaries. 

Representative payee:  a person or organization authorized to 
receive Social Security checks for someone who is unable to 
manage his or her own financial affairs. 

Trust:  an entity that owns, holds, and manages assets for the 
benefit of another. 

Trustee:  the person or organization that manages the assets and 
property in a trust. 

Will:  a legal document that states how you would like your 
property distributed after you die.

Glossary
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Appendix A
Government Agencies

UTAH DIVISION OF AGING AND ADULT 
SERVICES

The Division administers a wide variety of home and 
community-based services for Utah residents who are 60 
years of age and older. Programs and services are primarily 
delivered by a network of 12 Area Agencies on Aging, 
which reach all geographic areas of the state. Their goal is 
to provide services that allow seniors and vulnerable adults 
to remain independent.
877-424-4640
www.hsdaas.utah.gov

UTAH ASSOCIATION OF AREA AGENCIES ON 
AGING

An Area Agency on Aging (AAA) is a local government 
agency that provides services, advocacy, assistance, and 
answers to the elderly and their caregivers. These agencies 
serve as a focal point for linking people with information, 
nutrition, supportive services, and concerns regarding the 
elderly. Links to various Utah county agencies on elder 
care are provided. For information contact the AAA in 
your county. 

Counties: Box Elder, Cache, Rich 
Bear River Area Agency on Aging 
435-752-7242 or 
877-772-7242 
www.brag.utah.gov 
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County: Davis 
Davis County Bureau of Health Promotions and Senior 
Services 
801-451-3377
www.co.davis.ut.us

Counties: Beaver, Garfield, Iron, Kane, Washington 
Five County Area Agency on Aging 
435-673-3548 
www.fcaog.state.ut.us

Counties: Summit, Utah, Wasatch
Mountainland Dept. of Aging and Family Services 
801-229-3800
www.mountainland.org 

County: Salt Lake
Salt Lake County Aging Services 
801-468-2454
www.slcoagingservices.org 

County: San Juan 
San Juan County Area Agency on Aging 
435-587-3225 
www.sanjuancounty.org

Counties: Juab, Millard, Piute, Sanpete, Sevier, Wayne
Six County Area Agency on Aging
435-893-0700
www.sixcounty.com

Counties: Carbon, Emery, Grand, San Juan 
Southeastern Utah Area Agency on Aging
435-637-4268 or 5444

County: Tooele 
Tooele County Div. of Aging and Adult Services 
435-882-2870 
www.co.tooele.ut.us
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Counties: Daggett, Duchesne 
Uintah Basin Area Agency on Aging 
435-722-4518 
www.ubaog.org

County: Uintah 
Council on Aging/Golden Age Center 
435-789-2169 
www.co.uintah.ut.us

Counties: Morgan, Weber 
Weber Area Agency on Aging 
801-625-3770
www.weberhs.org

Appendix
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Appendix B
Nonprofit Agencies

AARP Utah Office
866-448-3616
www.aarp.org
Provides information on various aging topics.

ALZHEIMER’S ASSOCIATION Utah Chapter
800-272-3900 
www.alzutah.org 
Provides support groups, referrals, workshops, and seminars 
offered throughout Utah. Check their website for dates and 
times.

DISABILITY LAW CENTER
800-662-9080
800-550-4182 (TTY) 
www.disabilitylawcenter.org
Provides advocacy and legal assistance free of charge to eligible 
clients. DLC handles cases concerning the abuse and neglect of 
people with disabilities, accessibility, housing discrimination, 
special education, and other issues relating to the rights of 
people with disabilities. 

ELDERCARE LOCATOR 
800-677-1116 
www.eldercare.gov
Helps identify resources to enable seniors to live independently 
in their local area. 

LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF SALT LAKE 
801-328-8849 
www.lasslc.org
Provides free legal assistance on family law and domestic 
violence issues for low-income people. 
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UTAH LEGAL SERVICES 
801-328-8891 
800-662-4245
www.andjusticeforall.org/uls
Provides free legal services to low-income families and 
individuals, as well as seniors. 

UTAH STATE BAR 
801-531-9077 
www.utahbar.org
Organizes free legal clinics, including legal clinics for seniors.
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jgunther@utah.gov or 801-538-3910.




